Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: howto for monitor and determinate position FM frequency

Just burned his ISO

Default howto for monitor and determinate position FM frequency

hi,
    i'm new in bt2 and i have looked that with it it's possible to everything!
    my question if it's possible to monitor(with a det. hardware) and localise where someone with a radio is (who has output data) ?
    for example police with their radio?

sorry for bad english but i hope u understand me!

(i have just searched google but nothing)
    thanks

Not that i know of. Wireless/ Blue tooth frequencies are totally different to any of your police radios. Unfortunately BT does not support hardware for such a task! You would need a radio scanner.
    I have been working on a project myself trying to 'approx' localize a wireless client on a wireless network.. Maybe if your police man is watching Youtube outside your local mc donalds on the wireless you could predict his location.

Quote Originally Posted by lynx2bug0 View Post
    hi,
    i'm new in bt2 and i have looked that with it it's possible to everything!
    my question if it's possible to monitor(with a det. hardware) and localise where someone with a radio is (who has output data) ?
    for example police with their radio?

sorry for bad english but i hope u understand me!

(i have just searched google but nothing)
    thanks
    No, BackTrack is not designed for any radio work other than 802.11 or Bluetooth. For the type of locating you are referring to, requires a minimum of a Radio Frequency Signal Strength meter, and a directional antenna.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

Quote Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
    No, BackTrack is not designed for any radio work other than 802.11 or Bluetooth. For the type of locating you are referring to, requires a minimum of a Radio Frequency Signal Strength meter, and a directional antenna.