Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alfa AWUS036H 500mW question

Just burned his ISO

Default Alfa AWUS036H 500mW question

I know this adapter is very popular with backtrack , (rtl8187) and I have atheros in my
    laptop which only works with windows perfectly ,cant get it to works with this.
    I have ubuntu, backtrack 3 and windows xp a triple boot and I can say something
    is wrong with this usb adapter on both ubuntu and backtrack, it works for a while
    and then just stops and you have to keep unplugging it and back and forth it doesnt
    work good , also in backtrack wireless assistant it doesnt recongnize my network
    as wpa it says wep , what the hell is going on with this adapter , it is terrible. Is
    there any programs or commands to make this function better, the power in iwconfig
    says its at 27 dbm any way to change that ,anyways I just want to surf fast on the web with this card and enjoy the linux experience , thanks.

I am no expert on the subject, but it could be a problem with the card itself. A couple of months ago my dog chewed up my wireless card. I ordered a new one (AWUS036H/rtl8187) and was having the same problems you described. The card worked fine in windoze but lost funcionality every few minutes in bt3. I sent it back, and got a different one. The one I recieved as a replacement works great.
    When hungry, eat your rice; when tired, close your eyes. Fools may laugh at me, but wise men will know what I mean. -- Lin-Chi
    - - - - - - - -
    I slept once, it was a Tuesday.

That adapter was probably the best buy I made. It is a great card and functions perfectly for me with bt's and windows. The range is amazing and the speed above exceptional. Many tools in bt are also supported.
    Any other remote exploiter will agree and it is far from a terrible card.

Quote Originally Posted by SBerry View Post