Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Asus EEE Pc Install issues

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Asus EEE Pc Install issues

    Hi,

    This is my first attempt at installing this program and using linux.

    I followed your instructions via:

    i-hacked.com/content/view/260/1/

    I chose to use the .iso image and use USB ISO Boot Loader to load the .iso image onto my thumb drive. I am able to boot via thumb drive without any issues.

    First thing is I don't get this option:
    "BT3 Graphics mode (Compiz) - Experimental"

    so i used the BT3 graphics mode with KDE.

    When i try to get the ssd setup to install backtrack as the priomary os, i get to this step and have issues:

    mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdc1

    I get error /dev/hdc1 is mounted; will not make a filesystem here!

    no matter how many times i type umount /dev/hdc1 followed with a
    mkfs.ext3 /dev/hdc1 i get that same message. i have rebooted several times and even wiped everything and started from scratch.

    I am using BackTrack 3 Beta - 14-12-2007
    Description: CD Image
    Size: ~ 700 MB
    MD5: 04ed8742fc8facd1ecc8c9f6f567c116
    SHA: 70c33e0aa75a978b8a87a207bf488ecec8d10a87

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as I can't wait to use this software.

    Thanks in advance.

    Buzzed

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buzzed View Post
    Hi,
    This is my first attempt at installing this program and using linux.
    I followed your instructions via:
    i-hacked.com/content/view/260/1/
    FYI those instructions are from another website that really has nothing to do with the forums here. The only similarities is that they installed Backtrack onto a eeepc. But the good news is that you are at the official support forum for backtrack.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as I can't wait to use this software.
    Thanks in advance.
    Buzzed
    There is a tutorial here on using the eeepc with BT.
    Good luck.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thank you for the reply.

    If I want to install it on the hard drive would I follow the same instructions and replace /sda with /hdc1?

    Thanks

    Also. Any instructions for a mac user?

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    is there any instructions on how to install bt3 on the eee pc hard drive instad of the sdhc card?

    also i don't own a pc, so if anyone has some insight on how to get my usb drive and th usb vrsion of bt3 running i would appreciate it.

    thanks

    Buzzed

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buzzed View Post
    thank you for the reply.

    If I want to install it on the hard drive would I follow the same instructions and replace /sda with /hdc1?

    Thanks

    Also. Any instructions for a mac user?
    To do what? As for the internal hard drive, yes, that sounds about right.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •