Thread: Installing BT3 on a USB Stick ?

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Question Installing BT3 on a USB Stick ?

Hi everyone !
    I'm a new comer to the Backtrack, I've just downloaded the new USB version in order to try it, before I could install on my HD. In the downloaded files (bt3b141207.rar), I found two folders (/Boot and /BT3) plus another text file which say that in order to install on a USB device, these two folders must be firstly copied on the USB than to run an application "under Linux" in order to make the USB Stick bootable (MBR). The obstacle what I'm having is that I have no installed Linux in my machine ther's only a Windows XP, could anyone tell me how can I complete this installation on my USB Stick?

Best greetings

Adam

First WTF is with that big bold obnoxious text?

Second checkout the tutorials and guides section as well as the wiki there's lots of information there already about building BT USB keys.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Just burned his ISO

hey back-track, welcome, im fairly new too, so ill give you a hand because I just put learned how to put BT on my USB about a week ago.

So you have the file downloaded good. Now go to your USB and delete any random files on it already so its blank. Then copy the BT3 and Boot folder to the USB. Now open up Dos, and browse to your USB, if your USB is labeled G on your computer type this into DOS

G:

now you will be in your USB

Type: cd boot
    then type: bootinst.bat