Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Accidentally booted BT at my job

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member Luciano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default Accidentally booted BT at my job

    I sort of messed up at work yesterday. To make a long story short, here's what happened:

    I had my BT USB stick plugged into my workstation at work (I have other personal files on that stick besides BT). I step away from my desk to go use the vending machines. When I return, I surprisingly see my BT desktop on the monitor.

    What happened was that my co-worker decided F**K around and rebooted my workstation. I work for a big banking firm and our LAN admin guy is real strict about the network (he gives up anyone he catches circumventing the system to Management).

    This is my concern. Since the ethernet/LAN connection at work was recognized by BT and was working when I saw my BT Desktop, is there any way our LAN guy could find out that I tried to boot with BT, etc. Is there any information that might have transmitted to their servers?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Doesn't sound like a to good of an admin guy who allows the computers to boot of a USB-stick. However, the only thing that BT will have transmitted is a DNS request to assign the computer a local IP address. Since this is something that the machine would have done anyway I don't see how this could give you away.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Luciano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Thanks for the quick response, Tron.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default rolls eye?

    lol ur friend restarted ur computer,

    more like u booted backtrack at work tryed to attack the network ,FAILED/or not, and now ur shitting urself and wondering if ud get caught!!! lol

  5. #5
    Member imported_anubis2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Did you do anything on BT once it was booted up? I know for a fact that some IDS sensors/enterprise management systems are able to passively detect OSes/programs used by hosts based on sniffing network traffic.

    If you simply booted up and the system was on for a short amount of time, say < 10 min, as tron said, you should be ok.

    Not to be abbrasive, but why would you bring BT to your office with such a tyrant of a sys admin?
    "Sure is for people with nothing on the line.....you and me? We just get on with it."

    -Garabaldi

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default admin

    your system admin has the computers set to boot from USB before Hard drive or network,etc?

  7. #7
    Junior Member Luciano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    The system was on for about 5 mins (I guess I should be okay). I immediately shutdown after realizing it. I have my other files on the same stick, which is why this happened. Our entire floor received new system upgrades about 1 month ago (new IBM workstations) so I'm guessing they probably weren't properly staged. I'm sure soon that's gonna get fixed.

    Thank you all for your help.

  8. #8
    ninwii
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    However, the only thing that BT will have transmitted is a DNS request to assign the computer a local IP address.
    you mean a DHCP request

    if backtrack used the real mac its just another dhcp request....if backtrack set the mac manually (not default) its possible that a tool like arpwatch record your machine.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    you mean a DHCP request
    Yes you are right, I mean a DHCP request
    if backtrack used the real mac its just another dhcp request....if backtrack set the mac manually (not default) its possible that a tool like arpwatch record your machine.
    BT will use the real mac unless you manually fake it first.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •