Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: dos emulation...

  1. #1
    Junior Member linuxer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    50

    Default dos emulation...

    anybody know how to emulate a ms-dos sistem under backtrack3?
    i've tryed dosemu but isn't good and in bt3 lack some lib...

    thank u

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Dosemu would have got my vote as well, even though I have never personally tried it. can't you simply install the missing lib(s)?

    By the way purely out of curiosity, why do you want to emulate a dos environment under linux?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Junior Member linuxer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    50

    Default

    only to play with oldest games
    like keen commander
    and dulcis in fundo golden axe...

    yes I'd like to try to install missing lib but i can't find ...
    do you knwo where i can find this "libmodplug"?

    whit dosemu when i configure i reach this error... :
    Code:
    Your system doesn't seem to have bdftopcf or mkfontdir available.
    Please install these packages or a package named like 'xorg-x11-font-utils'
    or 'xfonts-utils' and retry.

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    You can get the library here:
    http://glitesoft.cern.ch/cern/slc4X/....EL.13.37.html

    rpm2tgz

    or you can try slapt-get

    William

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Have you tried DosBox?


    DOSBox is a DOS-emulator that uses the SDL-library which makes DOSBox very easy to port to different platforms. DOSBox has already been ported to many different platforms, such as Windows, BeOS, Linux, MacOS X...

    DOSBox also emulates CPU:286/386 realmode/protected mode, Directory FileSystem/XMS/EMS, Tandy/Hercules/CGA/EGA/VGA/VESA graphics, a SoundBlaster/Gravis Ultra Sound card for excellent sound compatibility with older games...
    http://www.dosbox.com/download.php?main=1

  6. #6
    Junior Member linuxer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    50

    Default

    I've installed that library thank u very much...
    but I can't succeed to solve this problem...

    that's very strange....
    Code:
     dosemu
    
       You do not have the DOSEMU vga font installed and are running
       remote X. You need to install the vga font on your _local_ Xserver.
       Look at the readme for details. For now we start with an fixed font,
       which does not display all national characters correctly.
       ... be warned
    
    In file included from built-in global.conf:676
                     from built-in global.conf:633
    Error in built-in global.conf: (line 671) Disk-device/file /var/lib/dosemu/drives/c doesn't exist.
    1 error(s) detected while parsing the configuration-file
    :S

    then i've try to install also dosbox installing with pkgtool downloading the package from http://www.slacky.eu/index.php?optio...6556&Itemid=65

    Code:
    bt ~ # dosbox
    dosbox: error while loading shared libraries: libmodplug.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    thank u very much for the support

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I have the MS-Dos 6.1 floppy disks, and maybe a MS-Dos 98 boot able floppy disk, I bet you can use
    the "sys" command and transfer the system to a cd with your game on it, and therefore
    create a boot able MS-Dos Game CD.

    echo off
    echo press one to start game one.
    if errorlevel=0 goto end
    call gameone.bat
    :end

    later,

    ««EDocTooR»»

  8. #8
    Junior Member linuxer314's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    50

    Default

    it would be booring every time rebooting to play a little bit...
    I was thinking the same thing but I'd like to resolve with the missing libraries...but I don't succeed to find it...

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Can't you created a VMware dos shell using the MS-dos 98 boot disks?

    Thats ok,, it would have taken me four days of digging to find those disks, and mailing them
    to you... seems like too much work anyway. ;-)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Link to some old bootdisk:

    */ Mod: The Site that I have linked to has this software listed as abandoned-ware, but if you do not want this link on the forum for legal concerns, I will happily remove */

    http://www.xtcabandonware.com/game.php?type=Progs

    Quote Originally Posted by ««EDocTooR»» View Post
    Can't you created a VMware dos shell using the MS-dos 98 boot disks?

    Thats ok,, it would have taken me four days of digging to find those disks, and mailing them
    to you... seems like too much work anyway. ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •