Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: fluxbox

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default fluxbox

    i have installed BT3 on hdd and today i run fluxbox. and it crached. now i cannot run startx. i write startx but he load flux and i cannot do anything on fluxbox. Is it possible to completly remove fluxbox and reinstall it ? and how to do that ? i tryed but no results, they anyway load (crashed)fluxbox. on fluxbox i cant connect internet can run almost anything cant reset cant reload etc etc etc. help me fix it

  2. #2
    Junior Member BlackRS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Try running xconf command before you run startx command
    Information is like water...

  3. #3
    Junior Member BlackRS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default

    You may need to delete your xorg.conf. Running xconf creates a new one.
    Information is like water...

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    nop didnt help

  5. #5
    Junior Member BlackRS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Is this a Real install or Live?
    Information is like water...

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    real install it is on my hdd.

  7. #7
    Junior Member BlackRS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Someone more adavanced then myself on these forums may be able to help you but it might be just as easy to reinstall. I recommend the live install with persistent changes. Its basically the best of both worlds. Its light on the system, all your changes get saved, and if something gets messed up you will always have the option of wiping your changes file setting you back to a default installation. Search "persistent changes" and you should find the tutorial.
    Information is like water...

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    whats happened is you have no .xinitric file. The script to start fluxbox creates one and then rms it to load fluxbox in order to have flux and kde at the same time. I dont believe fluxbox "just crashed" as its faily stable however whats done is done. I would try a few things.

    1. make sure your x session is set to kde in /etc/rc.conf

    2. do a xconfig like the other fellow suggested or you can do it the Xorg way and do "X -configure". That will create a new xorg.file in root and it will give you directions on how to test it and the copy it to the proper location.


    Just as a sidenote fluxbox rocks!!!!
    http://s236.photobucket.com/albums/f...uxboxtease.png

  9. #9
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post


    Just as a sidenote fluxbox rocks!!!!
    http://s236.photobucket.com/albums/f...uxboxtease.png
    Supersick man.. good work
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    468

    Default

    I can't wait for BT3 Final to be release so I can get a copy of the Flux setup on my slow D500 brick

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    whats happened is you have no .xinitric file. The script to start fluxbox creates one and then rms it to load fluxbox in order to have flux and kde at the same time. I dont believe fluxbox "just crashed" as its faily stable however whats done is done. I would try a few things.

    1. make sure your x session is set to kde in /etc/rc.conf

    2. do a xconfig like the other fellow suggested or you can do it the Xorg way and do "X -configure". That will create a new xorg.file in root and it will give you directions on how to test it and the copy it to the proper location.


    Just as a sidenote fluxbox rocks!!!!
    http://s236.photobucket.com/albums/f...uxboxtease.png

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •