Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: slow internet? Fine on Windows..

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default slow internet? Fine on Windows..

    Just installed Backtrack to my hard drive, and I dual booted... I can search the internet fine on my Windows side, but as soon as I go into backtrack, its...slow....

    google on windows: 2 seconds
    backtrack: 30 seconds

    any reason for this? I havnt updated anything yet, if that helps..
    any tweak or reason for this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hattrick View Post
    Just installed Backtrack to my hard drive, and I dual booted... I can search the internet fine on my Windows side, but as soon as I go into backtrack, its...slow....
    google on windows: 2 seconds
    backtrack: 30 seconds
    any reason for this? I havnt updated anything yet, if that helps..
    any tweak or reason for this?
    Considering you have given us so much info it is hard to tell what the problem is. Maybe you could help us to help you by being more specific. How do you know that " the internet" is slow?
    You might wanna have a look at some of your network statistics, using some sort of network diagnosis tools. Or maybe check one of those "speed test" websites.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I really dont know what to provide...

    hp laptop, bcm43xx drivers, amd processor, not that old...

    just... using backtrack on it makes it soooo slooooow...

    for example: i type in www.google.com in firefox and click enter. by the time the google homepage comes up, like 30-45 seconds have passed.

    If I reboot the computer and use my windows xp pro os, google comes up in like 2 seconds... so it cant be my network card, cant be my "slow computer" because like I said, it all works fine in windows...

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    To be honest with you, I find that it is quicker in BT and I know a lot of other people do as well.

    I would suggest you check the standard tcpip settings, like IP, default gateway, DNS servers etc.
    If that is a wireless card (which I assume it is), then what is the link quality like.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    did u tweak any settings? I'm not moving ANYTHING, keep in mind, as far as antennas and what not..

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    No tweaks, just straight out of the box, no wlassitant etc, ONLY using CLI commands to connect.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •