Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New to forums and Backtrack

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default New to forums and Backtrack

    I have recently decided to check out Backtrack after a long time of hearing and reading about it.

    I'm on VMWare right now, and I have to say, great job guys, this distro is amazing.

    However, I have a very stupid question that I feel bad posting but,

    How do I access my other hard drives from Backtrack?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Very nooby question, but I can't seem to find out.

    Whoops, delete.

  3. #3
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    New member posts are moderated so please wait instead of double posting.

  4. #4
    Senior Member lund99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    142

    Default

    you should find what you are looking for in the /mnt/ folder...
    or if you wanna browse through the disks in the GUI, start Konqueror and select the Storage Media link...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    also try the man page for mount, in a shell do
    Code:
    #man mount
    good luck
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks a ton guys. And yeah, I noticed my thread didn't show up, so I made a new one.

    Then I checked my email and found out about the 3 day verification thing, sorry!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Your drives will most likely be formated NTFS. Therefore, look at the manual for NTFS-3G to learn how to properly mount the drive.

    Also, in VMWare, you will only be able to see the drives set up to run in VMWare.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Yes, it is formatted NTFS.

    I am new to VMWare also, how would I go about setting up my other hard drives to work?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •