Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trouble getting started with AWUS036H

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default Trouble getting started with AWUS036H

    Hi!

    I used the boardsearch and googled like a freak!

    Today I got my new AWUS036H delivered, but there is some trouble getting started with this Device. I plugged it in and installed the Aircrack-NG Drivers (hxxp://ww w.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=r8187&s=rtl8187). I am bloody new at Backtrack and getting new Hardware work.

    ifconfig returned:
    Code:
    Enigma ~ # ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1B:FC:62:10:16
              inet addr:192.168.1.66  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:1663 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1339 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:1927214 (1.8 MiB)  TX bytes:215727 (210.6 KiB)
              Interrupt:10 Base address:0x4000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:E8:15:47:5B
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-13-E8-15-47-5B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    and iwconfig
    Code:
    Enigma|JigSaw ~ # iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:""  Nickname:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Tx-Power=27 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    How can I deactivate my OnBoard Wlan Adapter and get my Alfa activ?
    what should i do next?

    Thank you!
    Sorry again... I am really bloody fresh at Backtrack.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    245

    Default

    plug your alfa after boot, or replug

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SquattingBull View Post
    I plugged it in and installed the Aircrack-NG Drivers (hxxp://ww w.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=r8187&s=rtl8187)
    the driver is in bt, if you install (it's not necessary) use airdriver-ng when you are connected to the net

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    hey thank you! the replug worked!

    Is it possible to kill my onboard Wlan0?
    The AWUS036 now runs os Wlan1, do i have to configure anything else? Because my Link Quality is about ~50%? (1m distance to AP).

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    hmpf! What is this wmaster0 with this strange Mac? Thats the Mac of my OnBoard Chip with some -00- Segment added.

    Code:
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-13-E8-15-47-5B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00                   -00
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    now my wlan1 (AWUS036H) can't find any APs.
    Huh...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    245

    Default

    wmaster and wlan0 = 3945 intel (wlan0 is interface with you can use, wmaster0 i don't know sorry)

    (wmaster and wlan0 = 3945 intel --> i supose, it's this for me)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •