Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: not working BT4...Busybox

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default not working BT4...Busybox

    I have a toshiba satellite L505d laptop with wireless card RTL8191se

    when I start with the live dvd

    I get a message

    busybox 1.10.2 (ubuntu ... etc. ....)

    initramfs

    http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/5487/1003715.jpg

    I need help I hope I can help

    anybody???
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 02-11-2010 at 05:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    DO not bump your threads please.
    Now what have you done to resolve the problem or learn more about it? Help us to help you.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO SuspectZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    check the md5sum of the iso then burn it at the lowest speed. that should do it.
    Take What You Can, Give Nothing Back...

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    try it for DVD and USB, create dvd iso to usb, software with UNetbootin
    I think it's a compatibility issue


    toshiba satellite l505d

    AMD Turion dual core m500
    AMD M860G with ATI 4100
    4gb ddr2 1066mhz
    RTL8191SE
    hard disk hitachi 500gb


    I'm reading more in the web, and I think it is compatibility issues

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO sirduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    i have the same problem too..
    it only happened when i'm trying to boot BT4F using persistent LiveUSB created by unetbootin.
    i've tried every method including this one here.
    i don't use install.sh coz my thumbdrive capacity is on 4GB.
    i've successfully installed BT4F onto my other laptop HDD using the same iso file.

    it looks like this :
    BusyBox v1.10.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.10.2-1ubuntu7) built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs)


    please advice

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    Same, toshiba satalite, l500 series. wont boot to either dvd or usb. i have verified thst the dvd asnd usb i made are working in other machines. if this is a driver issue, i'm more than willing to learn. however theres no point in trying if it just can't be done on this hardware. anyone know anything about this?

    ubuntu also does not boot...

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Same deal - a Toshiba l505, dumps me to busybox after booting from USB in default mode....I believe it's to do with the SCSI controller? Paravirtualised? Does anyone know how to change this?

    This model {l505} has ACPI issues with Linux distros in a big way....it's a bit of a dog to run Linux to be honest. Allied to the lack of XP drivers - and inability of that 32 bit OS to use the machines capabilities - one seems to be stuck with Vista {shudder} or sending more money the evil empires way and getting Win 7. As for Linux on this machine....fail.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-20-2010 at 07:01 PM.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO oliverkrystal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ravaging the Refridgerator
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    I had this problem once when I was using ubuntu server. I exited initramfs and then it booted normally. I believe it was exit, or just hitting enter a few times. I stopped it from happening again by adding rootdelay=120 (very old, very slow machine). You might try 90 or less.

    Toshiba's with the Insydeh20 EFI\BIOS are poor, and seem to have trouble with linux. I would watch you fans and make sure they behave as seems appropriate. Wouldn't want to toast your CPU.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: not working BT4...Busybox

    So, you downloaded your free copy of Ubuntu 10.04 today,

    MOD EDIT: This is not the ubuntu forums I mean it even states so at all over the place. So giving advice about ubuntu is a bit ridiculous. Please refrain from doing so in the future. Thanks.

    This should take care of your problem, have your computer running with both processors, and resolve some WiFi issues.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 10-06-2010 at 05:57 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. chntpw not working for me
    By lordplagueis in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 11:03 PM
  2. Wireless not working
    By Mylegiscramped in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •