Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: external hd permissions?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member xirtam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    45

    Exclamation external hd permissions?

    hi guys first off i have to thanks all the guys at remote-exploit for backtrack it runs flawlessly on my eee pc But i just have one query my western digital drive doesn't let me write to it in backtrack but does in windows. i recently converted it to ntfs and this is why the permissions have changed. so i went about and changed them on my windows box this was fine but when i went to backtrack and was denied write access. also it wont let me change drive permissions in backtrack even though im root! here is a a screen shot of my attempts. this happens every time and it not just that specific file.

    Thanks in advance Xirtam
    Think outside the box

  2. #2
    Junior Member xirtam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    45

    Default

    sorry forgot to mention that a similar thing happens on the internal drive
    Think outside the box

  3. #3
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    you may have a look to ntfs-3g
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  4. #4
    Junior Member xirtam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    45

    Default

    cheers shaman it works fine now. but will i have to do this everytime i plug the hd in?
    Think outside the box

  5. #5
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    modify your /etc/fstab

    /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2 ntfs-3g auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,locale= 0 0 # AutoUpdate

    like that normally it loads auto
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  6. #6
    Junior Member xirtam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    45

    Default

    /dev/sda2 /mnt/sdg2 ntfs-3g auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,locale= 0 0 # AutoUpdate <-- the one i inserted

    /dev/sdh2 /mnt/sdh2 ntfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,ro 0 0 # AutoUpdate <--the one backtrack made
    it keeps mounting under a different name. carrys on like this and always wants to mount as Read-only (Ro):


    /dev/sdh2 /mnt/sdh2 ntfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,ro 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    /dev/sdI2 /mnt/sdh2 ntfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,ro 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    /dev/sdJ2 /mnt/sdh2 ntfs auto,noatime,users,suid,dev,exec,ro 0 0 # AutoUpdate

    so if i put mine in and remove the Ro ones it still doesnt mount with write permissions

    maybe im doing something wrong
    sorry to pester you
    Think outside the box

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •