Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Swap space issue

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Swap space issue

    Hello, I am having problems getting an installation of BT2.0 to recognize the swap space I partitioned. According to fdisk there is a swap partition, however, the System Information regarding memory does not show it to exist.

    Is this not a problem, is the GUI just not catching up for some reason? Or did I do something wrong? Any help is appreciated.


    I did some searching around the site and was unable to find anything helpful, so my apologies if this has been asked before. I'm not a total linux noob, but its been a long while since I had a reason to tinker with it, so naturally my memory is shoddy at best.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Im running BT3b and my swap space isnt on on bootup, if I want to use it I have to enable it using 'swapon sda3', sda3 being my swap partition. Im sure you could make a script to enable it on boot, but I havent as I dont really use it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    During your installation when you were running fdisk after finishing you should have rebooted now this might now be the reason that it does not work but it could be part of the problem. And when you set up your partition did you turn on your swap ?
    Code:
    #swapon /dev/hda#
    # is your swap partition.
    It should have turned itself on automagically. On the next boot up do a
    Code:
    #mount
    it should not show you your swap partition if one has been created. If you see the driver letter/partition assignment then you no that you have not created a swap properly.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    I did the following, and received the following messages:

    bt ~ # swapon /dev/sda4
    swapon: /dev/sda4: Device or resource busy

    bt ~ # mount
    /dev/sda3 on / type auto (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/sda1 on /mnt/sda1 type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/sda2 on /mnt/sda2 type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    bt ~ #
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From Ubuntu: QTParted I know my partition are:

    /dev/sda1 Winblows 53 GB
    /dev/sda2 Ubuntu...34 GB
    /dev/sda3 BT3.........4 GB
    /dev/sda4 Swap.......2 GB

    The results of Pureh@tes command resulted in the following:
    bt ~ # dmesg | grep swap
    Adding 2008116k swap on /dev/sda4. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:2008116k

    I assume all is ok, but thought I would double check.

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    swapon: /dev/sda4: Device or resource busy
    This generally means your swap is working and was initialized on boot.

    You can always check dmesg for clues....

    bt~#dmesg | grep swap

  6. #6
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Thanks you Pureh@te:

    I used the dmesg command and I was able to see over ten pages
    (50 lines per page x ten pages = 500 lines) of system information:

    So I assume that the "| grep swap" is a linux command that searches the
    output of the dmesg command and displays the lines with the word swap"

    bt ~ # dmesg | grep swap
    Adding 2008116k swap on /dev/sda4. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:2008116k

    I understand that the results show that the system has added
    2,008,116 k or 2 GB of hard drive space to function as a swap.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greyspace View Post
    Thanks you Pureh@te:

    I used the dmesg command and I was able to see over ten pages of system
    information:
    So I assume that the "| grep swap" is a linux command that searches the
    output of the dmesg command and displays the lines with the word swap"

    bt ~ # dmesg | grep swap
    Adding 2008116k swap on /dev/sda4. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:2008116k

    I understand that the results show that the system has added
    2,008,116 k or 2 GB of hard drive space to function as a swap.
    Holy crap! I usually only have like 400 lines with dmesg. Grep is a cool command, very useful for looking for specific things.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •