Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Hydra: Receiving 'select: Bad file selector' error

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27

    Question Using Hydra: Receiving 'select: Bad file selector' error

    Hello,

    I have the de-ICE 1.100 disc and bt3 on VMWare. I have succesfully used nmap against the de-ICE system and checked out their faux webpage. When I use Hydra to try and access the ssh port I receive the error 'select: Bad file selector'. It was suggested on a different forum that this may be caused by an error in the path name but my pathnames are correct. Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Try adding the -V switch. I haven't figured out what is causing the "Bad file descriptor" error but at least you'll see that Hydra is working.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Have you tried reducing the timing on Hydra
    as this seems to be the cause of most problems with hydra
    for some reason the tool works too fast sometimes and all kinds of weird error messages come up try reducing it to 8 and see if it works then

  4. #4
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Scott112's right. You have to play with Hydra's parameters to get it to work right, and the timing can be critical.

    BTW, the De-ICE site has it's own forums, and you can see what other people have done on the 1.100 and 2.100 disks if you get stuck. There are even full spoilers if you get really stuck.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    having same error message - anyone figured it out?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    i think it was too many threads/tasks..

    I was running hydra(gtk) with -36, and i set it to 8~14 and it's happy now.. sometimes i can push a bit higher, sometimes not..

    hydra 127.0.0.1 ssh2 -l username -p password -t 8

    or

    'Tuning' tab on GTK -> number of tasks

    hope it helps someone else

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •