Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: metasploit fails to bind address/port

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default metasploit fails to bind address/port

    Hi,

    I can't start either metasploit 2 or 3 web interface. Both before and after I update them. Here is the error I get for metasploit 3:

    Code:
    bt framework3 # ./msfweb
    [*] Starting msfweb v3.1-dev on http**://127.0.0.1:55555/
    
    => Booting WEBrick...
    => Rails application started on http**://127.0.0.1:55555
    => Ctrl-C to shutdown server; call with --help for options
    [2008-04-23 12:16:15] INFO  WEBrick 1.3.1
    [2008-04-23 12:16:15] INFO  ruby 1.8.6 (2007-06-07) [i486-linux]
    [2008-04-23 12:16:15] WARN  TCPServer Error: Cannot assign requested address - bind(2)
    /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/utils.rb:73:in `initialize': Cannot assign requested address - bind(2) (Errno::EADDRNOTAVAIL)
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/utils.rb:73:in `new'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/utils.rb:73:in `create_listeners'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/utils.rb:70:in `each'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/utils.rb:70:in `create_listeners'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/server.rb:75:in `listen'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/server.rb:63:in `initialize'
            from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/webrick/httpserver.rb:24:in `initialize'
            from ./script/../config/../vendor/rails/railties/lib/webrick_server.rb:58:in `new'
             ... 8 levels...
            from ./script/server:3:in `require'
            from ./script/server:3
            from ./msfweb:82:in `load'
            from ./msfweb:82
    Now it looks like it works, rails seems to start and then fails to bind address. I am no expert with bind, so I can't tell if it's the port or the address. I searched the forums and the bug page on the wiki, but there is no mention of this kind of error. Could it maybe be that my local adapter is screwed or something?

    Thanks for your time,

    P.S: sorry to circumvent your link filters but I reckoned it would be ok for local host links :P

  2. #2
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Are you using BackTrack 2 or 3b?

    I just booted up a clean ISO of BackTrack 3b in VMWare and ./msfweb worked fine.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    sorry, I should have mentioned I'm running BT3b. Is there a newer version maybe? I have had it run properly before using the same cd, I burned a new one, and it still won't work. However, I'm starting to think maybe it's a problem with my hardware, you know what laptops are like with linux. I'll try with my desktop.

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calef13 View Post
    sorry, I should have mentioned I'm running BT3b. Is there a newer version maybe?
    No. .
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •