Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dual boot Backtrack and ubuntu gutsy

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Dual boot Backtrack and ubuntu gutsy

    I have searched everywhere and nothing seems to be working. This is my setup
    HDD
    4 Gb Fat32 sda1
    80Gb ext3 sda2
    1Gb swap
    6Gb ext3 sda4

    The 80 gig has ubuntu installed with grub, the 6gb has backtrack 2 installed. this is my menu.lst in grub.

    title Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=a3ff69f7-ab31-4679-b2bc-12251392c06b ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic
    quiet

    title Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.22-14-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22-14-generic root=UUID=a3ff69f7-ab31-4679-b2bc-12251392c06b ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.22-14-generic

    title Ubuntu 7.10, memtest86+
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
    quiet

    title BackTrack 2
    rootnoverify (hd0,3)
    kernel /boot/vmlinux vga=791 root=/dev/sda4 ro
    boot

    someone please help I can see backtrack 2 in the grub but when i load, it returns an error.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    What error does it return!?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    error 15: file not found

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    You have it pointing to vmlinux !?

    (Use vmlinuz)

    Or, was that just a typo in your post?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    something that easy has given me one of the biggest headache. Thanks it works just fine. if i remove the vga=791 will i get a better resolution when i boot into backtrack?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    You're welcome - glad you got it sorted

    About the vga=X value, you're talking about the bootsplash?
    Well, I don't know about a "better" resolution........it all depends on what is supported and what you want!
    You can pass a value here to use a defined resolution.
    I posted a quick table of the available values and their respective resolutions.
    I'm sure a quick search would find it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •