Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: BT 3 Beta DVD Installation On HDD & Vmware

  1. #1
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Lightbulb BT 3 DVD Installation On HDD & Vmware with Dual Boot

    First of all I would like to say thanks to all the senior member out there on forum and respected moderator and developer of BT3,Remote Exploit,Offensive Security,Backtrack WIKI.after several days study and installation I made final documentation of comprehensive installation of BackTrack 3 DVD installation and Conflict free dual booting.I assume you have already made DVD ISO using make_iso.bat or using linux shell script file and burned the DVD ISO on DVD I am already having separate partition for linux which I created previously having size 4.8GB.you can provide free space for partition using any windows utility like paragon partition manager.I proceed further-

    BackTrack 3 DVD Installation On Hard-Disk

    boot BackTrack 3 using ISO DVD

    First after booting KDE 3.5
    click KDE menu
    System
    System Information
    Storage Device
    here you will get list of all mounted devices
    for a hazel free installation it is necessary that you unmount all the physical partitions because by default after booting using live DVD backtrack will mount all partitions.

    Choose partition
    right click
    unmount
    (repeat steps for all physical mounted partitions)

    For E.G my Hard-Disk Partition Table Is:

    Attachment 227

    Now you got a rough idea which all partitions are to be unmounted(e.g.hdc1,hda7,hda5,hda6,hda1,hdc5)

    hda-first hard-disk
    hdc-second hard-disk

    I am assuming you are using hdc

    open xterm
    bt~#fdisk /dev/hdc

    p (view partition table)

    n (create new partition at this point if you getting error no free sectors delete one of partition(warning:all data would be lost on that partition))

    p (primary)

    1 (partition 1)

    def(enter)

    +4200M (size for partition one.its root.storing files,downloaded data)

    n (new partition)

    p (primary)

    2

    def.(enter)

    +64M (it would be our boot partition)

    n (new partition)

    p (primary)

    3

    def.(enter)

    +522M (swap partition,double the amount of system RAM)

    p (newly created partition table)

    t (table for changing system partition id)

    3 (that is our swap partition.def set to 83)

    82 (making hdc3 partition as swap by changing its id from 83 to 82)

    p (check partition table)

    w (save changes)
    (at this point if you getting warning:error 16 Device or Resource busy.new partition table would come into effect after next restart then REBOOT.)

    bt~#reboot (fdisk recommend this)

    bt~#mke2fs /dev/hdc2
    bt~#mkswap /dev/hdc3
    bt~#swapon /dev/hdc3
    bt~#mkreiserfs /dev/hdc1
    choose (y/n)y
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mount /dev/hdc1 /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~#mount /dev/hdc2 /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,sr v,var} /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    bt~#mount --bind /dev /mnt/backtrack/dev
    bt~#mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc
    (at this point you can get error about directory not exist,may be its a bug that even after running aboce mkdir cmd the directory has not been created.go to backtrack directory and make directories by mkdir{mnt,proc,sys,tmp} here you are)
    bt~#cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~#chroot /mnt/backtrack /bin/bash
    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf

    Configure LILO(find & change following configs)
    boot = /dev/hda (for knowing which is your boot-disk use fdisk /dev/devicename(e.g./dev/hda or /dev/hdc the one which showing an start * is your boot partition)

    timeout=1200 (timeout for LILO boot menu option)

    #linux config ...
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hdc1 (this is your root partition,the biggest one you created)
    label= BaCkTrAcK3(I33t)
    read-only
    #
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = WindowsOs(n00b) (here comes ms n00b O.S full with bugs lol)
    table = /dev/hda (disk where your Microsoft OS Resides)

    save using ctrl + o & press enter
    come out using ctrl + x
    bt~/#cd \
    bt~#lilo -v (remember its very important step to tell lilo which operating system is to be add in lilo boot loader list.if it goes well you have successfully installed the BackTrack 3 DVD version on your hard-disk along with Microsoft OS Dual Booting)
    bt~#init 6


    Installation of BT 3 on Vmware
    I got tutorial on BT3 installation on Vmware.Thanks to respective member.I am modifying it a little to make more comprehensive

    tested using Vmware workstation 6.0.0 build-45371
    guest os-Linux
    version-Other linux 2.6 kernel
    networking-choose bridged or NAT
    Disk capacity-recommended 7-8GB
    now edit settings for this VM
    memory-128(if system RAM=256MB)
    192/256(if system RAM=512MB)
    cdrom-if using ISO DVD using Hard-disk.choose location else default DVD ISO.

    boot BT3
    open xterm
    bt~#fdisk /dev/sda
    n
    p
    1
    def(enter)
    +6400M
    n
    p
    2
    def.(enter)
    def(enter)
    w

    (at this point if you getting warning:error 16 Device or Resource busy.new partition table would come into effect after next restart then REBOOT.)
    bt~#init 6
    bt~#mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1
    bt~#mkswap /dev/sda2
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#exit

    goto KDE menu->backtrack->Install Backtrack(Not tested)
    Source(Backtrack CD):
    Install backtrack to:/mnt/backtrack
    Write new MBR(lilo.mbr)to:/dev/sda
    Installation method:Real
    Uncheck-Restore orignal MBR after lilo (its very imp to UNCHECK this else your whole hard work will go in vain)
    Press Install
    hang out outside thinking how many tools your are going to work over on BT3 for about 30-40 mins.
    after installation
    Reboot using KDE menu->logoff->Reboot

    Thanks for reading this tutorial.I did a lot hard-work for creating and providing accurate documentation.

    Secure_it(Security = Secure it/Sec URE IT)
    Codename:ThUnDeRBoLT
    it.specialist.india@zapak.com
    M.Sc(IT),MCSE:Security,Security+,CCNA,CEH
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------






  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Thanks for making this. VERY informative.

    Moving to tutorial section.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Member The_Denv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    364

    Thumbs up

    Nice job 'secure_it', indeed...very informative. I like it a lot when people describe what they did in detail and its nice to read aswell

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Nice , However there is one error. There is a extra directory in bt3 that was not in bt2. It is the src directory. I'm not altogether sure what its for to be honest but I felt this was worth mentioning.

    Also this line should read lilo.conf
    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.cong

  5. #5

    Default

    nice work thanks for posting this.
    15" MBP 8 gigs o ram 256 gig SSD in drivebay + 256 gig 5400 HD
    1000HE EEE 30 gig SSD 2 gigs Ram

  6. #6
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Thumbs up

    Thanks to moderator and members for pointing out error.typing mistake has been corrected.

    Xheers,
    Secure_it
    codename:ThUnDeRBoLt

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    great nice work

    Evil monkey

    Sharing is caring but caring is scaring

  8. #8
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Nice , However there is one error. There is a extra directory in bt3 that was not in bt2. It is the src directory. I'm not altogether sure what its for to be honest but I felt this was worth mentioning.

    Also this line should read lilo.conf
    PUREH@ATE I would like to say that there is no such directory by name src.by mistakenly you missed it.that is srv directory(precisely file).this is structure of the BT 3 FS

    /bin
    /boot
    /dev
    /etc/
    home/
    /lib
    /mnt
    /opt
    /pentest
    /proc
    /root
    /sbin
    /srv
    /sys
    /tmp
    /usr
    /var


    putting remaining dirs in BT3 showing no effect.

    Thanks for reading this
    Secure_it
    Codename:ThUnDerBolT

  9. #9
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Okay sorry I meant srv.

    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}


    Still you did not include it. I mean really all you did was copy muts dual boot video.


    DO NOT TYPE IN LARGE COLORED LETTERS BY THE WAY IT IS ANNOYING AND A WASTE OF SPACE.

  10. #10
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    here is what actually /srv directory is and what it does-
    its a new root-level directory - /srv - as an optional home for the data (and sometimes the software too) for software that provides services.
    /srv will be supported via a USE flag.
    In KDE menu there we can find some demon services like HTTP Demon,CGI,TFTP Demon,VNC Server to use,they rely on this Service or /srv directory.there configuration files are resides in this directory.include if you wish to use those demons for start and stop.
    thanks for letting me know about formatting post pureh@te.I will take care about it in future posts & I am correcting problem and adding those directories and will soon test what actually they are doing during run time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •