Thread: Couple of Questions...

Just burned his ISO

Default Couple of Questions...

First off, I am not familiar with most of the stuff regarding Linux, and metasploit so no flaming. In other words, I am new to this stuff...
    I have a couple of questions, if you can answer, I would appreciate it.

Now my questions:

Is it actually possible to use exploits available in metasploit to target xp machines which are fully patched and be successful? I mean things like a remote shell and stuff...

Is Dictionary attack the only possible way to crack WPA? If it is, then isn't it a bit unreliable because you can use character like %&# with ˇŕ because then it will be impossible to crack, no?

Thanks

!n00b_threat_level

Read/Search/Self Educate
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

Quote Originally Posted by n.Tesla View Post
    Is Dictionary attack the only possible way to crack WPA? If it is, then isn't it a bit unreliable because you can use character like %&# with ˇŕ because then it will be impossible to crack, no?
    Yes, using a Dictionary/Rainbow attack is the only way to break WPA, and the technique is only good against weak passwords. Strong passwords make WPA essentially uncrackable. This is a good thing.

This isn't just true of WPA. Many modern password schemes are only breakable by weak passwords. Realistically, you're never going to crack a random password/passphrase via a dictionary attack unless it's been used in something that is inherently weak, like WEP or LM.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
    Yes, using a Dictionary/Rainbow attack is the only way to break WPA, and the technique is only good against weak passwords. Strong passwords make WPA essentially uncrackable. This is a good thing.
    Damn right.