Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Running Backtrack Apps In Ubuntu...

  1. #11
    Member wick86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Re@lity View Post
    I have some HP's too, and generally find they run BT fine - DV9292's, a V6000 and an older V2000 (iirc!)
    This is why I wondered what model the guy has?

    I had never heard of that nubuntu either........

    I see that they no longer host their screenshots themselves, due to excessive bandwidth issues.
    Also, the download link gives me a 404

    Edit: In fairness though, it would seem that the project has remained static for a while now.
    It would appear that they're awaiting the new (8.04?) release of Ubuntu before taking up the project again...
    Here is a great site security and forensics distros

    http://www.securitydistro.com/security-distros/

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hot Damn thanks for all the replies guys I might just pick up one of those other distros I just feel so unclean using ubuntu for BT applications. Im using a HP Pavillion dv6714ca there is another post in this forum about my live cd not booting all the details are there if you want to gander.

    EDIT: I mainly use backtrack for wireless applications, can anyone reccomend off the top of their head another distro that would be well served for this purpose?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by abseeley View Post
    Hot Damn thanks for all the replies guys I might just pick up one of those other distros I just feel so unclean using ubuntu for BT applications. Im using a HP Pavillion dv6714ca there is another post in this forum about my live cd not booting all the details are there if you want to gander.

    EDIT: I mainly use backtrack for wireless applications, can anyone reccomend off the top of their head another distro that would be well served for this purpose?
    Yes... Backtrack

    As people have said... Backtrack should work with your laptop

    Look at that link... I think it's all there.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  4. #14
    Junior Member w116tjb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Where exactly does it hang? Have you tried to research boot options to help? My friends laptop needs to use the VGA boot option in order to boot properly. Without it, his laptop hangs when he tries to boot.

    Also, I don't remember seeing you reply on whether your using BT2 or BT3beta?
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Id have to dbl check but im pretty sure its BT2, how would i put it into vga mode, since im having a graphics issue (i believe) then this could help! Would BT3beta have some new drivers and whatnot that might bring me up to compatible status?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •