Thread: how to install Video card driver MODULE?

Just burned his ISO

Exclamation how to install Video card driver MODULE?

I have a radeonHD video card and i installed BT3 in my hard drive, bt works fine but the screen is very blurry, i messed around with Xorg and find a driver patch: "radeonhd-1.2.0.tar.gz" downloaded it and suppose to cp it to BT3/Modules but i can't find it in my hard drive. And i'm a noob linux so could someone give me a detail and easy way to install them? my installed partition is sda6. i use IFS.ext2 to browse and share file with vista.
    thank you very much

Quote Originally Posted by katshuya2003 View Post
    I have a radeonHD video card and i installed BT3 in my hard drive, bt works fine but the screen is very blurry, i messed around with Xorg and find a driver patch: "radeonhd-1.2.0.tar.gz" downloaded it and suppose to cp it to BT3/Modules but i can't find it in my hard drive. And i'm a noob linux so could someone give me a detail and easy way to install them? my installed partition is sda6. i use IFS.ext2 to browse and share file with vista.
    thank you very much
    A tar.gz file is generally a Linux source package... not a slax module.

A slax module is either .lzm or .mo. A slax package is .tgz.

You would have to extract the tar.gz file and then read the INSTALL file within the extracted folder for installation instructions.

Normally

./configure
    make
    make install

However this can be a problem if you don't have the necessary compilers and/or libraries installed.

Ideally it would be better for you, being new to linux, to find a slax package. I would however assume that the drivers for your card are already available in BT3.

Possibly all that is required is some minor tweaking of the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

Edit: I've just taken a quick look... and it doesn't look like there is a slackware package or module available on the internet... but I could be wrong.