Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Backtrack 3 macbook stall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default Backtrack 3 macbook stall

    Hi i just installed backtrack 3 duel boot to my macbook and every time i boot backtrack up it seems to stall once its fully booted, if a have a terminal open it prints some sort of error message, the mouse still moves but really reall slow and i cant click on anything?? not good. is there and fix for this? v got a mac osx version 10.5.2 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 duo Processor,
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM,,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrispyJones View Post
    Hi i just installed backtrack 3 duel boot to my macbook and every time i boot backtrack up it seems to stall once its fully booted, if a have a terminal open it prints some sort of error message, the mouse still moves but really reall slow and i cant click on anything?? not good. is there and fix for this? v got a mac osx version 10.5.2 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 duo Processor,
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM,,
    Hi, I don't have a mac just so you know... but I'll try to help.

    Is everything else in order eg. Is the md5sum of the downloaded BT iso correct.

    Have you tried re-installing. What installation guide did you follow?

    Do you have some *nix experience or is it relatively new to you?

    Sorry about all the questions but the more info the better.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default

    it happens when im running off of the iso to, all is good when i instaled it to my old laptop (not mac) so i think its a mac thing.. is there any way you can get a recent error report from backtrack, like error log or something?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrispyJones View Post
    it happens when im running off of the iso to, all is good when i instaled it to my old laptop (not mac) so i think its a mac thing.. is there any way you can get a recent error report from backtrack, like error log or something?
    Logs are generally located in /var/log/ Don't know if you will find what you are looking for but just navigate to there and then use nano, or vi to have a look at them.
    like this:
    Code:
    # cd /var/log/
    Then to view some of the common log files just do one or all of these
    Code:
    # tail -f /var/log/messages
    # less /var/log/messages
    # more -f /var/log/messages
    # vi /var/log/messages
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default

    i just booted backtrack up again and had a teminal open and when it stalled again it printed kernal disabled irq #19? any ideas?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Have you got a usb stick attached when this happens?
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default

    a usb wireless device yeah

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrispyJones View Post
    a usb wireless device yeah
    Try booting without the usb wireless device and see what happens. If you get no errors then maybe your device drivers need updating or something.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    28

    Default

    just tryed that and now the input at the log in screen is doubled, ( bt login: cchhrriiss)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrispyJones View Post
    just tryed that and now the input at the log in screen is doubled, ( bt login: cchhrriiss)
    Interesting. That's very strange. What happens when you startx?

    Perhaps you should post the section of the log file where the errors are, exactly as they appear.
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •