Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Connecting to WPA and using a Edimax EW-7318USg

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5

    Angry Connecting to WPA and using a Edimax EW-7318USg

    Hi I seem to be having a spot of trouble connecting to my home network which is using WPA-PSK

    I have the Edimax USB EW-7318USg adapter and have used the rt73 driver.

    I can connect to my wireless network if i disable all security however when I try and connect with WPA i get no luck.

    After searching the forums I found this page:

    showthread.php?t=15785

    [Sorry cant add all the URL]


    So i updated the driver according to the post and also followed the steps at the bottom to patch it.

    I then tried to connect using the following procedure:

    CODE]
    wpa_passphrase NETGEAR 0123456789012
    [/CODE]

    which displays the hash like so:

    Code:
    network={
    ssid="NETGEAR"
    #psk="0123456789012"
    psk=7b8e62496b86b7eba28199fd9af1f560a8503b7ede9149 bd2f42e42e631bedb0
    }
    So i copy the hash and modify my wpa_supplicant file to look like this:

    Code:
    # WPA protected network, supply your own ESSID and WPAPSK here:
    network={
    scan_ssid=0 #1 is ssid is hidden
    ssid="tNETGEAR" #change with your ssid/essid
    proto=WPA 
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
    psk=7b8e62496b86b7eba28199fd9af1f560a8503b7ede9149 bd2f42e42e631bedb0 
    }
    I then try to connect using this line:

    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf - d rt73 -w
    I then get the following output to screen

    Code:
     
    bt ~ # wpa_supplicant -i rausb0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -d rt73 -w
     
    Initializing interface 'rausb0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
    Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
    ctrl_interface_group='0' (DEPRECATED)
    eapol_version=1
    ap_scan=1
    fast_reauth=1
    Priority group 2
       id=1 ssid='any'
    Priority group 0
       id=0 ssid='NETGEAR'
    Initializing interface (2) 'rausb0'
    EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
    EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
    EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
    EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=14 enc_capa=0x0
      capabilities: key_mgmt 0x0 enc 0x3
    WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
    Own MAC address: 00:0e:2e:4d:fa:57
    wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 7 value 0x1 - Driver does not support WPA.
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT, trying SIOCSIWENCODE
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT, trying SIOCSIWENCODE
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT, trying SIOCSIWENCODE
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT, trying SIOCSIWENCODE
    wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 5 value 0x1 - Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    Added interface rausb0
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1002 ()
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'rausb0' added
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'rausb0' added
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'rausb0' added
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'rausb0' added
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b2a len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b2a len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b2a len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b2a len=8
    State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    Trying to get current scan results first without requesting a new scan to speed up initial association
    Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
    Scan results: 0
    Selecting BSS from priority group 2
    Try to find WPA-enabled AP
    Try to find non-WPA AP
    Selecting BSS from priority group 0
    Try to find WPA-enabled AP
    Try to find non-WPA AP
    No suitable AP found.
    Setting scan request: 0 sec 0 usec
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 5 seconds
    Scan timeout - try to get results
    ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable
    Scan results: -1
    Failed to get scan results
    Failed to get scan results - try scanning again
    Setting scan request: 1 sec 0 usec
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 5 seconds
    Scan timeout - try to get results
    Received 159 bytes of scan results (2 BSSes)
    Scan results: 2
    Selecting BSS from priority group 2
    Try to find WPA-enabled AP
    0: 00:14:6c:aa:be:5e ssid='NETGEAR' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    1: 00:14:7f:93:ee:c3 ssid='BTHomeHub-trevor' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    Try to find non-WPA AP
    0: 00:14:6c:aa:be:5e ssid='NETGEAR' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - SSID mismatch
    1: 00:14:7f:93:ee:c3 ssid='BTHomeHub-trevor' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - SSID mismatch
    Selecting BSS from priority group 0
    Try to find WPA-enabled AP
    0: 00:14:6c:aa:be:5e ssid='NETGEAR' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    1: 00:14:7f:93:ee:c3 ssid='BTHomeHub-trevor' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    Try to find non-WPA AP
    0: 00:14:6c:aa:be:5e ssid='NETGEAR' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - non-WPA network not allowed
    1: 00:14:7f:93:ee:c3 ssid='BTHomeHub-trevor' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0 caps=0x11
       skip - SSID mismatch
    No suitable AP found.
    Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    Scan requested (ret=0) - scan timeout 5 seconds
    CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
    Removing interface rausb0
    State: SCANNING -> DISCONNECTED
    wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
    WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
    No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 7 value 0x0 - Failed to disable WPA in the driver.
    wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 5 value 0x0 - wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
    ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
    WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
    Cancelling scan request
    Cancelling authentication timeout
    WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6
    I cancel this using ctrl+c as it just loops through over and over looking for an AP.

    I can see by SSID called NETGEAR however I am unser what to do as it doesn't connect. The lights flash on the USB device during this looping process. I have double checked SSID WPA type and passphrase in the router admin.

    Has anyone got any information as I am really struggling.

    Thanks in advance.

    Matt

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Nobody got any ideas?

    I really want to get access to the internet with backtrack, its such a nice piece of kit.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ive got my computer working with 2.6.24.5 kernel, and edimax ew7318usg usb card.

    just a thought..

    is it WPA or WPA2 your trying to use?

    in my wpa supplicant file I've got this

    Code:
    proto=WPA2
    also, I assume this is a typo?
    Code:
    ssid="tNETGEAR"

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi thanks for replying to my post.

    Yes that is a typo, i couldn't get onto the internet so i was having to copy error messages over and i just typed that bit out as i forgot to put it on the stick.

    I am not entirely sure if i am using WPA2 or WPA. The routers admin page just says WPA-PSK, is there any way to try and find out other than in the router's admin?

    Many thanks again for replying.

    Im sure I will get there in the end!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    1) I think airodump-ng or kismet may tell you if its WPA/WPA2

    2) If after you sorted out whether its WPA or WPA2 and its still no go after fixing up the config files. You may want to try updating the driver (rt73) and/or wpa_supplicant. Make sure that you do fulfil the needs of which kernel and/or dependencies that you may require and also be aware that some of this work may break dependencies with other tools.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matt1982 View Post
    I am not entirely sure if i am using WPA2 or WPA. The routers admin page just says WPA-PSK, is there any way to try and find out other than in the router's admin?
    As hatake_kakashi points out both airodump-ng and kismet will reveal whether you are using WPA or WPA2. Hoewever, since the admin page of the router lists the encryption as WPA-PSK that means that you are using WPA and not WPA2.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    my router config says:

    Encryption - use WPA-PSK encryption
    WPA-PSK version - WPA2
    this second option is set by drop-down box (WPA/WPA2/WPA+WPA2)

    you could try googling your router make/model and see if it supports WPA2.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys. I will try these out tomorrow when I get to my laptop. Really nice to see you helping me out.

    Hopefully one day I may be able to put something back.

    I will let you know how I get on with this.

    Matt

  9. #9
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    For my WPA2 I have to use the RSN protocol..

    Have you tried like this ;

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    
    # WPA protected network, supply your own ESSID and WPAPSK here:
    
    network={
    scan_ssid=0 #1 is ssid is hidden
    ssid="NETGEAR" #change with your ssid/essid
    proto=RSN
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP (so deleting the WEP entries)
    psk="NETGEAR 0123456789012" (so just using the passphrase in quotes)
    }
    Hope you have success !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •