Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ubuntu n BT3F dual boot GRUB issues

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Ubuntu n BT3F dual boot GRUB issues

    Hello all,

    Newbie here so bear with please.

    I have a Gateway MX6635b laptop (old i know) 100Gb , 1Gb, 1.8Ghz. So I initially installed Ubuntu as the main OS and its a current version up-to-date. I had been using BT3 off of a live CD but decided I want to put it on a partition. I used QTParted, booted in and shrunk the existing partition and created another partition in ext3 format 10gig called hda3. I followed a tutorial from "goodgirl" except installed it all to hda3 rather than having the seperate partitions for wordlists etc as she did. I got to the stage about changing the GRUB but this is where the problems begin.

    Here is my disk configuration:

    Disk /dev/sda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000ef118

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 5894 47343523+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 11788 12161 3004155 5 Extended
    /dev/sda3 5895 7199 10482412+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda5 11788 12161 3004123+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    In Ubuntu when I mount the BT3F partition all the files appear to be there but I cant access them from boot. At start up Ubuntu uses GRUB Loader 1.5. Below is my current menu.lst off of my Ubuntu partition......


    ## ## End Default Options ##

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-21-generic
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-21-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-21-generic
    quiet

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-21-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-21-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-21-generic

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic
    quiet

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-19-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-19-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-19-generic

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    quiet

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=86434517-80a0-4eb7-8e1f-241695a57dc1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic

    title Ubuntu 8.04.1, memtest86+
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
    quiet

    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST

    I have tried editing this as goodgirl tut replacing it for hda3 but to no luck so returned it to its previous state.

    If anyone could help with this I would really appreciate it. I am a Security Systems Engineer for CCTV, Access Control, Alarms and Integrated system and am trying to use BT3F to highlight issues of network security if our systems piggyback existing ones....

    Thank you in advance....

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    You have to add backtrack into your grub config, read up on GRUB-HOWTO.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Code:
    title		BackTrack 3
    rootnoverify	(hd0,6)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz vga=791 root=/dev/sda7 ro load=cubez autoexec=xconf;cubez;startx
    boot
    This is a hackers forum :P
    root ~# aircrack-ng pwnd-01.cap
    Lenovo Thinkpad R500, OS: Ubuntu 8.10, BackTrack3, Windows XP (VirtualBox), Windows Vista, Windows 7 beta

  4. #4
    fastboi
    Guest

    Default

    is it possible to switch from lilo to grub? I had vista and ubuntu dual boot and i really enjoyed grub. Now using lilo with vista and bt3, and i just dont like the way lilo looks. Or maybe it is possible to use default windows bootloader by editing boot.ini?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    38

    Default

    vista doesn't have the "boot.ini", it has "Boot Configuration Data" or "BCD". It's a big pain in the A**, i would just stick with grub or lilo. BCD you can't edit it through a simple notepad or any kind of text based editor. You have to go through a 3rd party editor, or run bcdedit in cmd.

  6. #6
    fastboi
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UG_Cyber View Post
    vista doesn't have the "boot.ini", it has "Boot Configuration Data" or "BCD". It's a big pain in the A**, i would just stick with grub or lilo. BCD you can't edit it through a simple notepad or any kind of text based editor. You have to go through a 3rd party editor, or run bcdedit in cmd.
    I am kind of new to vista, so sorry for the lame comment, but then i guess i wont mess with BCD, and i will try to find some nice guide through google, how to switch from lilo to grub.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up Thanks

    Ok thanks for all the help i'm away on some training course at the moment but i will try when i get back. Thanks for the quick respond.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    38

    Default

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/g...mozTocId836096

    Just go to the installation link....

  9. #9
    fastboi
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UG_Cyber View Post
    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/g...mozTocId836096

    Just go to the installation link....
    Thanks for the link I am kind of scared of messing with things like lilo or grub confs. I know it is not very complicated but recently i tried to install newest kernel, and had to reinstall bt3 on my hdd because of that lol, but i guess i will give a shot

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    ok just quickly tried that bit of code supplied and Backtrack does now appear in the boot up list which is great. however when i select it i get an "Error 17 Code: unable to load that partition press any button ......"

    should i change the sda7 to hda3? and is it definently hd0,6 or could it be hd0,2? Again all your help appretiated from a willing to learn newb. If you can explain the code that mite help me trouble shoot too if anyone has the time. Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •