Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Cannot access WINDOWS folder

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Cannot access WINDOWS folder

    I am running BT3 off a usb drive and trying to access my windows folder. I am typing in the terminal.

    cd /mnt
    cd <windows partition>
    cd Windows/

    At this point is says it cannot find that directory. I'm kinda noob so I tried many different combinations. Any advice?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelnath View Post
    I am running BT3 off a usb drive and trying to access my windows folder. I am typing in the terminal.

    cd /mnt
    cd <windows partition>
    cd Windows/

    At this point is says it cannot find that directory. I'm kinda noob so I tried many different combinations. Any advice?
    Did you mount it?

    Code:
    mount /dev/<windows partition>
    You will need to know the name of the partition.
    Examples:

    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1
    or
    Code:
    mount /dev/sda3
    etc.

    This is a VERY basic Linux command. You might want to study basic Linux usage before delving into BT3.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Ah, thanks. Sorry for double post in advance. I could have sworn I accessed it one time without mounting, but I guess i was wrong.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hmm, mounted it and it still didn't work. In fact, it was already mounted.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelnath View Post
    Hmm, mounted it and it still didn't work. In fact, it was already mounted.
    Where is it mounted?
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    yes okay def
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    thorn is it because there is no such directory as windows wouldnt it have to be a full directory
    like
    Windows\Admin\desktop
    Assuming that it was a question*, on most XP machines there is a directory called "WINDOWS". If Kelnath boots a USB on a Windows XP machine, then it should be mounted as
    Code:
    /mnt/<partition_name>
    either manually or automatically, depending on his particular setup.

    He should be able to
    Code:
    cd /mnt/<partition_name>/windows
    and see the WINDOWS directory's contents. It doesn't have to be an full absolute path. He could execute a series of relative path jumps as he showed in his original post.

    *If you are sober, please take the time to type correctly. Seriously.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    146

    Default

    If it is already mounted can you see it in file browser? If you can see it and you cant access it then you need to use in terminal:
    "kdsu konquerer" or something like that to open a root browser. For some reason even when logged in as root sometimes I need to use the root browser to access things.

    If on the other hand you cannot see the files in the browser then you need to mount them as per Thorn's instructions.
    Morpheus: "You take the blue pill - the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill - you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes."

    Neo: "What if I take both?"

    Morpheus: "Don't do that! You end up like Nick Nolte!"

  9. #9
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelnath View Post
    I am running BT3 off a usb drive and trying to access my windows folder. I am typing in the terminal.

    cd /mnt
    cd <windows partition>
    cd Windows/

    At this point is says it cannot find that directory. I'm kinda noob so I tried many different combinations. Any advice?
    The ommand line is case sensitive, does Windows really have a capital W?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    The ommand line is case sensitive, does Windows really have a capital W?
    On every (german) default install , yes it's a capital W.
    Be sensitive in choosing where you ask your question. You are likely to be ignored, or written off as a loser, if you:

    * post your question to a forum where it's off topic
    * post a very elementary question to a forum where advanced technical questions are expected, or vice-versa
    * cross-post to too many different newsgroups
    * post a personal e-mail to somebody who is neither an acquaintance of yours nor personally responsible for solving your problem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •