Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to make VGA port work in BT3 (display to ext monitor)

  1. #1
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default How to make VGA port work in BT3 (display to ext monitor)

    I have BT3 with persistent change installed successfully on my Eee 1000H. The graphics works with VESA KDE at 800x600.

    Now I am trying to connect the Eee to an external monitor / projector and it doesn't work because the Fn+F8 key (switch between internal and external monitor) is not functioning.

    Is there a different key combo or some setting I need to change?

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Code:
    xrandr --output VGA --auto

  3. #3
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by williamc View Post
    Code:
    xrandr --output VGA --auto
    Thanks, Williamc. Have you tried this with your Eee 900/901/1000H and does it shows 800x600 or automatically scale to 1024 x 768 or higher? My 1000H built-in LCD resolution supports up to 1024 x 600 but (the manual says) the external VGA port can support up to 1440 x 900.

    If not, how do I set the command line above to display the resolution I want?

    With WinXP, the Fn button automatically scale the resolution beyond 1024 x 600 since that's an oddball resolution.

  4. #4
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    UPDATE

    I tried the command line above and it didn't work. I tested the VGA Port (to make sure it work) by booting up to WinXP and switching to LCD+CRT mode via the Fn Key and itdoes work. Note that activating the VGA port, at least in WinXP, must be done by pressing the Fn switch to turn it "on".

    I don't know with BT3, but since the Fn key doesn't work, can I assume that there is no way to activate the VGA port unless a driver is made available for the Fn key?

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chico CA
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Just run xrandr by itself. Post what your findings are. They should be similar to this:
    Code:
    $ xrandr
      Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1400 x 1050, maximum 2048 x 1152
      VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
      DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
      LVDS connected 1400x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
         1400x1050      60.2*+
         1280x800       60.0
         1280x768       60.0
         1024x768       60.0   75.0
         800x600        60.3
         640x480        59.9
      S-video disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

  6. #6
    Junior Member lanwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Here it is:

    Code:
    bt ~ # xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
    default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       800x600        86.0*
       640x480        86.0
    bt ~ #
    The VGA doesn't seem to be "recognized" in the above.

    I checked "dmesg" and I see this:

    Code:
     APCI: Video Device [VGA] (multi-head: yes rom: no post: no)
    Williamc,

    Any luck?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •