Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: aireplay error =(

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy aireplay error =(

    hi guys
    yesterday i got my ALFA awus036h and i directly tried to get the WEP key of my own test network.
    Okay followed this tutorial

    hxxp://aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=simple_wep_crack&DokuWiki=45196e15d348 267aec345a1d5a2cf210

    and it works quite well until i came to this line.

    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e teddy -a 00:14:6C:7E:40:80 -h 00:0F:B5:88:AC:82 ath0
    If thought ok my wlan device is wlan0 so i should type this command

    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e Dei Mudda -a (AP) -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    but everytime i entered this command it response

    aireplay-ng --help for help (or something like that)

    I tried many other things but without succes.
    I still makes me crazy that I have such a great wireless card but can't use it. =(

    Please can somebody help me?!
    This would be awesome

    Thanks in advance

    F1N4L

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Try
    Code:
    iwconfig
    and make sure you're really using the Alfa instead of the built-in wifi card.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Ok I think I know where you are going wrong, but I am still a noob myself so correct me if im wrong.

    The reason its not working is you are using your card without putting it into monitor mode first. This is done by using the airmon-ng tool.

    So first you want to disable all wireless devices (so you know what you are going to attack with. Before you might want to note the channel you are connecting to.

    Type:
    airmon-ng start wifi0
    find the access point you ant to connect to and note the channel its on
    airmon-ng stop ath0
    airmon-ng stop ath1
    just to disable your ethernet and wireless (that was just set up)
    Then
    airmon-ng start wifi0 11 (assuming the channel is 11)
    this means your device will now be assigned the device address of ath0

    then continue as normal...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1N4L View Post
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e Dei Mudda -a (AP) -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    but everytime i entered this command it response

    aireplay-ng --help for help (or something like that)
    Since your ESSID has got a space in it you need to surround it with a " on either side, i.e. use the following command instead:
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e "Dei Mudda" -a (AP) -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I had a hard time by following that tutorual
    I was like "Why wont it work with wlan0?"
    Then i found out that i should use eth2 -_-
    Funny that

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thank you for all these replies =)

    I'll give it a try if i'm at home

  7. #7
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Instead of trying hands directly on cracking and being a ethical hacker.first read how these tools work and what all FAQ's are associated with it.it will give you deeper understanding of underlying technology.


    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    okay it works now if i write it without the -e paramater.
    This works for me
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a (AP) -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    but another little question
    if enabled my MAC adress filter only for tests.
    If googled and search in this forum but without succes
    how can i get a list of working MAC adresses or how can i connect to an AP which has MAC adress filtering enabled?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F1N4L View Post
    how can i get a list of working MAC adresses or how can i connect to an AP which has MAC adress filtering enabled?
    Using mdk3 or sniffing the network till a client connects.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default spaces in essid names

    It's cool that it worked for you without the -e argument; sometimes it does and sometimes not I find. Regardless, the error you were getting is caused by the space in the essid name and, as mentioned, you solve this by putting quotes around the entire essid.

    On a related note, I set up my target parameters once in an rc file ($BSSID, $ESSID, $CHANNEL, etc.) and then alias all the attacks which get expanded when they're used, like alias dump='airodump-ng -c $CHANNEL -w $CAPFILE ath0' and the funny thing is that all these aliases and functions can survive when I put a space in my AP mane except the first fake association alias. I have to enter this manually w/ "s around the essid, even though $ESSID works fine in the rest of the aliases. Curious if anyone has a guess as to why.

    - eX

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •