Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help Configuring Kismet

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Question Help Configuring Kismet

    Hey I need to crack some wireless codes and I've done research and I need Kismet. Kismet will open then shutdown but I found out the problem was my conf file for it. THe only problem is that I'm not sure how to configure it.
    All I know is that I'm using a Belkin Fd7050 4xxx series wifi usb, and I think the chip is zd1211 (am I right).

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member imported_pynstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    143

    Default

    Try reading the man page:
    Code:
    bt ~ # man kismet
    and the kismet README:
    http://svn.kismetwireless.net/code/trunk/README

    There are sooo many posts about this exact subject already resolved on this forum, every one available here http://forums.remote-exploit.org/search.php
    When hungry, eat your rice; when tired, close your eyes. Fools may laugh at me, but wise men will know what I mean. -- Lin-Chi
    - - - - - - - -
    I slept once, it was a Tuesday.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    i did, ive been researching and reading for maybe a week on just this one thing
    my chipset and driver are "zd1211" and i put
    source=zd1211,zd1211,belkin

    This did not work (fatal error)

    Can someone please help me

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingofdacourt93 View Post
    i did, ive been researching and reading for maybe a week on just this one thing
    my chipset and driver are "zd1211" and i put
    source=zd1211,zd1211,belkin

    This did not work (fatal error)

    Can someone please help me
    The source should look something like "source=zd1211,eth1,belkin", where eth1 is the actual wireless interface your card is listed as by iwconfig.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    The source should look something like "source=zd1211,eth1,belkin", where eth1 is the actual wireless interface your card is listed as by iwconfig.
    SO then I think thats exactly what it should be because on my iwconfig its eth1.
    Thanks I'll try it out right now and let you know.

  6. #6
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    The source should look something like "source=zd1211,eth1,belkin", where eth1 is the actual wireless interface your card is listed as by iwconfig.
    source should be
    source=zd1211,eth1,eth1

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by secure_it View Post
    source should be
    source=zd1211,eth1,eth1
    And how is this any different from the advice in my previous post?

    The last part of the source is simply the name you choose for the interface and therefore completely arbitrary.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  8. #8
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    And how is this any different from the advice in my precious post?

    The last part of the source is simply the name you choose for the interface and therefore completely arbitrary.
    My mistake.I misunderstant the fact that interface name can be anything.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •