Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Broadcom card help

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Broadcom card help

    I've exhausted myself looking for the answer. Yes i am a newb, but i've searched high and low in order to educate myself on this topic and try to get it to work, but still nothing. So i've finally resorted to asking for help.

    Im running BT3 live on usb with boot options "acpi=off noapic" on my HpDv2000 with integrated wifi card. In Vista's device manager, my card reads as a Bcm4315.

    I've tried to enable my card by using Bcm43xx-fwcutter and then ifconfig wlan0 up as well as many other combinations with no luck. I tried ndiswrapper, but i dont think i did it correctly as it didnt do anything. i even went over and tried on ubuntu, but that was just worse.... The light on my wlan has not lit up to blue (which is when the card is enabled). here's some info i got from the terminal:


    bt ~ # lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    bcm43xx 430368 0
    ieee80211softmac 29952 1 bcm43xx
    ieee80211 34376 2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
    ieee80211_crypt 8576 1 ieee80211
    snd_seq_dummy 6660 0
    snd_seq_oss 32768 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 10112 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 49872 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device 10508 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    snd_pcm_oss 42656 0
    snd_mixer_oss 17920 2 snd_pcm_oss
    pcmcia 35244 0
    pcmcia_core 36628 1 pcmcia
    capability 7304 0
    commoncap 9344 1 capability
    fuse 41876 4
    agpgart 31304 0
    lp 13864 0
    parport_pc 27940 0
    parport 34888 2 lp,parport_pc
    pcspkr 6400 0
    psmouse 38792 0
    sdhci 18828 0
    mmc_core 25988 1 sdhci
    snd_hda_intel 20248 1
    snd_hda_codec 211712 1 snd_hda_intel
    snd_pcm 71428 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    serio_raw 9220 0
    snd_timer 22276 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    ata_generic 9220 0
    evdev 12032 1
    pata_amd 14092 0
    sg 30364 0
    snd 46692 9 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd _mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm,snd _timer
    k8temp 8320 0
    hwmon 6404 1 k8temp
    soundcore 9824 2 snd
    forcedeth 47240 0
    shpchp 33300 0
    snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    aufs 106372 1
    squashfs 48388 33
    sqlzma 6916 1 squashfs
    unlzma 8576 1 sqlzma

    bt ~ # lspci -v
    04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4310 USB Controller (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Unknown device 137c
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 10
    Memory at fc000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
    Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information
    Capabilities: [e8] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint IRQ 0

    bt fwcut # iwlist
    Usage: iwlist [interface] scanning
    [interface] frequency
    [interface] channel
    [interface] bitrate
    [interface] rate
    [interface] encryption
    [interface] key
    [interface] power
    [interface] txpower
    [interface] retry
    [interface] ap
    [interface] accesspoints
    [interface] peers
    [interface] event

    bt fwcut # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    bt fwcut # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 2A:F2:5B:72:1D:00
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x8000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


    i appreciate any help from anyone.

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member wick86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    try running "ifconfig eth1 up" brodcom cards are seen as ethx not wlanx

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    It doesn't look like your card is supported by bcm43xx

    http://bcm43xx.berlios.de/?go=devices

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    hmmm ive found it has worked with other ppl
    hxp://xxx.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-wireless-networking-41/bcm4315-card-no-wlan0-device-no-wireless-extensions-621795/

    before but with limited capabilities, i just want this thing detected period. should i installl a persistent copy of it on the usb? is that maybe why?

    @wick86
    tried that to no avail, it just doesnt detect it but as you can see from
    bt ~ # lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    bcm43xx 430368 0
    ieee80211softmac 29952 1 bcm43xx
    ieee80211 34376 2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
    ieee80211_crypt 8576 1 ieee80211

    it doesnt detect some sort of 802.11 so it has be able to be enabled some how

    thanks again guys,
    any more help?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    ive gotten the ndiswrapper to work with the xp driver (bcmwl5.sys) from dell. but now im having the problem of not being able to set it to monitor mode as ndiswrap does not support this. Any ideas on how to get the native driver to work? theres a module called bcm43xx that i can activate but it doesnt seem to do anything.

    again, any help is appreciated guys

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Using ndiswrapper you will, as you state, not be able to put your card into monitor mode, regardless of the Windows driver that you use. Also as level says your card does not seem to be supported by the bcm43xx driver, which is the one that commonly are used with broadcom cards. Therefore I fear that you are pretty much out of luck getting your current card into monitor mode.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    ahg, had i known this i wouldnt have gotten this POS laptop with no PCI slot. now i have to sit and wait. or figure out a different way of gettin this god forsaken card to work. anyone else got a clue?

    just stumbled across this amaing little tid bit.
    broadcom.com/docs/linux_sta/README.txt

    can this help me out?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    50

    Default

    I have the the same issue I think, I have 2 cards
    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"TalkTalk54c46" Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:16:E37:4A:45
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption key:6364-6437-3965-6638-6132-3532-63 Security modepen
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    eth1 no wireless extensions.

    wifi0 no wireless extensions.

    ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"TalkTalk54c46" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:16:E37:4A:45
    Bit Rate:18 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
    Retryff RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption key:6364-6437-3965-6638-6132-3532-63 Security modepen
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=24/70 Signal level=-72 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:46650 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    the ath0 is a Orinoco pcmcia card which can connect to my wep enable ap (it also goes into monitor mode fine etc) where as the Broadcom card eth0 will not connect to the wep enabled ap..

    I have tried everything I could on this site to get connect (I want to connect ans surf with the broadcom card and mitm/wep crack etc with the atho card.....)

    Am I flogging a dead horse, or am I just missing the key point...!!

    Appreciate any helpful comments or pointers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •