Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: What Steps are needed to get WUSB54GS into Monitor mode?

  1. #1
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default What Steps are needed to get WUSB54GS into Monitor mode?

    What Steps are needed to get WUSB54GS into Monitor mode?

    There is a label under the slide mount which shows
    that I have version 2.1

    I have searched Google,,, and most of it, is way over my head.

    I have searched:
    backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php?title=HCL:Wireless
    aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=compatibility_drivers

    I can't get this unit to light up, mostly because of the
    WUSB54G is listed; but not my WUSB54GS.

    I am aware of the air commands; however, installing and matching
    drivers for the WUSB54GS unit that isn't listed; has me stumped.

    I tried apt-get install qtparted, and the command is not found,
    just to show you that I know a little Ubuntu commands and they
    just don't work for me.

    Thanks

    P.S. I am sorta confused as I know that it is good to show that I have tried to search myself, yet I can't prove it because url are blocked for the first 15 Posts. I can't complain, I have BT3 working very well, considering I didn't know linux four weeks ago I am quite impressed with BT3 beta and the people here.

    Can I please have the step by step commands to install and configure the
    WUSB54GS please.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    well try this

    iwconfig to see what interface it is. I'm unfamilier with that card. The airmon commands are more atheros specific. for most other interfaces iwconfig will work. for example

    if iwconfig lists wlan0 as your wireless interface in mode managed then do this

    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor

    then run iwconfig again and check if it is indeed in monitor mode

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Here's a howto for Ubuntu. You may have to change a few things to get it to work with BT. It looks like it uses ndiswrapper, so it will have limited usefulness in BT.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=225206

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    what version is it ?

    v1, v2, v2.1 ?

    it's written somewhere ...
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Thank you all for the prompt replies:

    shamanvirtuel there was a label under the slide mount which shows
    the version to be "2.1"

  6. #6
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    this card / version uses a BCM4320SKFBG chipset.

    BCM stands for broadcom , and this is not a good news.

    the bcm43xx , wich is the official driver for linux for broadcom chipsets , don't support this one

    your only solution is to use ndiswrapper , wich is a pain because it uses a windows driver on a linux system, and don't allow injection , so the card becomes useless

    sorry for you , but your best solution is to buy another card ....
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  7. #7
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Thanks, I will return the WUSB54GS

    Thanks again for replying so quickly.
    I almost started to build my first cantenna... ;-) using this paper weight, lol.

  8. #8
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by greyspace View Post
    Thanks, I will return the WUSB54GS

    Thanks again for replying so quickly.
    I almost started to build my first cantenna... ;-) using this paper weight, lol.
    Get a WUSB54GC
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  9. #9
    Junior Member greyspace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Great its seems that I am getting closer to the final device required to
    capture wpa/wpa2 on a microchip.com robot that I plan on creating.

    I have done some research on AirLink101 AWLL3026, ALFA Networks AWUS036H and others; however, most of that information was created before BT3 so that is why I am asking for current information.

    Now, it is just a thought; however, I just bought a Vex robot, I have learned how to program chips found at microchip.com; and I am here.
    Why not, put it all together.

    Thank you swc666 for your mention of the WUSB54GC!

    At this point I assume that I'll get the greatest range using the
    Linksys WUSB54GC, and get all the features of BT3.

    Secondly, If anyone has something that they would love a robot antenna to do please PM me.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Originally posted by greyspace
    At this point I assume that I'll get the greatest range using the
    Linksys WUSB54GC
    From my experience the wusb54gc is about average regarding range, which is typical for the ralink chipset.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •