Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ndiswrapper compatable airmon alternative

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Ndiswrapper compatable airmon alternative

    In my laptop I have no cardbus, and the chipset is a bcmxx. It works fine using ndiswrapper, but with the usual limitation of no monitor mode... I was wondering if there was another alternative for sniffing or whether I'd just have to pray to the madwifi gods they will support my chipset (the bcmxx restricted drivers wont work either). I also have a USB AR5523 based adapter, but that of course isn't supported by madwifi either (USB).

    Any way around this?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xDrakkx View Post
    In my laptop I have no cardbus, and the chipset is a bcmxx. It works fine using ndiswrapper, but with the usual limitation of no monitor mode... I was wondering if there was another alternative for sniffing or whether I'd just have to pray to the madwifi gods they will support my chipset (the bcmxx restricted drivers wont work either). I also have a USB AR5523 based adapter, but that of course isn't supported by madwifi either (USB).

    Any way around this?
    I would suggest getting the best compatible card that you can afford.

    One can get a decent compatible usb adapter with external rp/sma connector and removable 4dbi omni antenna for around US $20-30.

    Or else you can really splash out and get the Alfa 500mW for as little as +- US $60.

    I don't know if it's worth spending time on questionable wireless cards.

    Unless that's one's only option
    [FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]hehe...
    [/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Don't suggest the Alfa as it can't connect to WPA so if he needs to get into a WPA network then he'll be back to NdisWrapper,

    Although I suppose he could enter monitor mode on the Alfa and crack with that and then enter a WPA network via the Broadcom?.

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    My alfa will connect to OPEN WEP WPA WPA2 etc without any problems at all.

    If it doesn't work for you, then I can only suggest you look at your commands again.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    79

    Default

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...ght=supplicant

    is my problem like it seems others also have.
    Can I please ask how you connect to WPA?, the network I'm tring in question is WPA CCMP (AES).

    I've also tried wpa_supplicant along with wpa_Gui.

    On the main thread subject as others have said it may seem that the ALFA is the way to go.
    I have one of these which is great if running on a Virtual Machine as it will need a USB adapter, plus the fact that the ALFA will find networks at great distances.

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    My alfa also connect to all the networks BP listed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •