Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Kismet without GPS

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default Kismet without GPS

    I was wondering if I could use Kismet to find a location of an AP without having GPS and instead of using GPS I could get my coordinates from Google Earth. Or can Kismet just tell me what direction it is in and how far away

  2. #2
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hack2009 View Post
    I was wondering if I could use Kismet to find a location of an AP without having GPS and instead of using GPS I could get my coordinates from Google Earth. Or can Kismet just tell me what direction it is in and how far away
    Kismet does not tell you where the AP is using the GPS, it logs where you were when it detected the AP.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Kismet will not tell you any location data without a GPS. Kismet will not give you location data of any AP, even with a GPS. Rather it will record where the GPS location was when it saw 802.11 traffic. (Presumably, both the GPS and the device running Kismet are in the same place.)

    You might be able to do triangulation to determine the location of a given AP, but that is RF direction finding, and has nothing to to with Kismet.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    im sorry i though it gives you an approx. location of how far away the ap is

    how would you do the triangulation

  5. #5
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hack2009 View Post
    im sorry i though it gives you an approx. location of how far away the ap is

    how would you do the triangulation
    That approximation is merely that, an approximation. With Multipath reflections and all other kinds of interference, that approximation is pretty much meaningless.

    As for how to do triangulation, I believe Mr. Google knows how.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  6. #6
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    A full survey 360° around AP using strong and weak cards then use KNSGEM II to determine approximate location.
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PrairieFire View Post
    A full survey 360° around AP using strong and weak cards then use KNSGEM II to determine approximate location.
    doesn't that require GPS?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    468

    Default

    There is not point in linking Kismet with Google Maps/Earth if you don't have GPS because Google will not know where you are.

    The only real way of location the AP is if you use the signal strength gauge and a directional aerial to triangulate it, but that going to be very hard with out more a min of 3 system doing the same but not imposable.

    Edit:
    */ Already said, post this before seeing the post posts, must remember to refresh before posting */

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Why do you need GPS to know where your AP is? Did you misplace it or something?

  10. #10
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Yikes.....
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •