Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: to see which internet I have?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default to see which internet I have?

    Hi,
    Just for "knowledge-sake" I was wondering whether it would be possible if someone would hack into my network (not really that hard, seeing that my router isnt very good) could he (or even her, who knows?) know what type of internet conection I have? As in, if it's the 56kbps (pay as you use), or ADSL (pay a fixed amount per month)? I'm just quite curious, to see how much the person could know about this...

    Thanks!
    CPU: Mobile DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2000 MHz (12 x 167)- 2Ghz
    Chipset: Mobile Intel Calistoga i945PM
    RAM: 2048 Mb (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX (512 Mb)
    Audio: SigmaTel STAC9200 @ Intel 82801GBM ICH7-M - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
    Network Card: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Wireless Card: Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Modem: Conexant HDA D110 MDC V.92 Modem

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sardinemaster View Post
    Hi,
    Just for "knowledge-sake" I was wondering whether it would be possible if someone would hack into my network (not really that hard, seeing that my router isnt very good) could he (or even her, who knows?) know what type of internet conection I have? As in, if it's the 56kbps (pay as you use), or ADSL (pay a fixed amount per month)? I'm just quite curious, to see how much the person could know about this...

    Thanks!
    Well certainly they can. Once connected to your network, a simple whois by IP would tell them who you subscribe through. And by simply looking at their connection on the desktop would tell them how fast the line is. As far as if its pay as you go...I've never heard of that. I get a bill every month from my ISP..so I guess technically its a pay as you go?? Cause if I don't pay,....it goes.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Well certainly they can. Once connected to your network, a simple whois by IP would tell them who you subscribe through. And by simply looking at their connection on the desktop would tell them how fast the line is. As far as if its pay as you go...I've never heard of that. I get a bill every month from my ISP..so I guess technically its a pay as you go?? Cause if I don't pay,....it goes.
    You wouldn't even have to go that far. If the attacker has your IP, then could do a WhoIs and base it up on that. If it's Comcast, it's gonna be a cable modem, if it's verizon, and it the DNS lookup begins with ADSL, guess what, it's DSL, if it begins with modempool, it's a dialup.

    They wouldn't have to connect to get that information. Any competent hacker would know the speed of their target before the attack.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    You wouldn't even have to go that far. If the attacker has your IP, then could do a WhoIs and base it up on that. If it's Comcast, it's gonna be a cable modem, if it's verizon, and it the DNS lookup begins with ADSL, guess what, it's DSL, if it begins with modempool, it's a dialup.

    They wouldn't have to connect to get that information. Any competent hacker would know the speed of their target before the attack.
    True, if they had their IP they wouldn't have to connect to get any of this info, but I was under the impression he was speaking of someone breaking into his wifi. So, if the hacker knew nothing about him but what they saw in airodump, all the hacker would know was its speed. (Unless the did a tcpdump or korek chop chop to get the connected clients IP in airodump)...... But if they were using Kismet, they could get the IP if the victim was connected. So, yea, your right...you don't have to be connected. It can all be done "passively" in monitor mode. I just like being pro active.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Thanks for the replies, guys. But when I hack my own network, all I see is my ESSID, my BSSID and the IP. Then how do I know what my speed is? (obviously i know, but just where would I have to go?). I didnt quite get it, and sorry if my head is being a bit hard.

    Thanks.
    CPU: Mobile DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2000 MHz (12 x 167)- 2Ghz
    Chipset: Mobile Intel Calistoga i945PM
    RAM: 2048 Mb (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX (512 Mb)
    Audio: SigmaTel STAC9200 @ Intel 82801GBM ICH7-M - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
    Network Card: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Wireless Card: Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Modem: Conexant HDA D110 MDC V.92 Modem

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sardinemaster View Post
    Thanks for the replies, guys. But when I hack my own network, all I see is my ESSID, my BSSID and the IP. Then how do I know what my speed is? (obviously i know, but just where would I have to go?). I didnt quite get it, and sorry if my head is being a bit hard.

    Thanks.
    One question, why would you care?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Member imported_Deathray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    381

    Default

    Because he wants to compare his neighbors wifi with his own, to
    find out which one downloads porn fastest
    - Poul Wittig

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default

    @streaker69:
    I think I explained why I want to know in the second line of my first post. For "knowledge-sake", as many of the questions asked in this forum.

    Peace.
    CPU: Mobile DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2000 MHz (12 x 167)- 2Ghz
    Chipset: Mobile Intel Calistoga i945PM
    RAM: 2048 Mb (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX (512 Mb)
    Audio: SigmaTel STAC9200 @ Intel 82801GBM ICH7-M - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
    Network Card: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Wireless Card: Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Modem: Conexant HDA D110 MDC V.92 Modem

  9. #9
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sardinemaster View Post
    @streaker69:
    I think I explained why I want to know in the second line of my first post. For "knowledge-sake", as many of the questions asked in this forum.

    Peace.
    For knowledge sake: then you should extrapolate what I said in reply to Xploitz about how someone from the outside would do it.

    There's a brain in your head for a reason, and it isn't to be spoonfed.

    Using one of the most basic IP tools, anyone should be able to tell what kind of internet connection they're connected to within milliseconds of typing the command.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Your third sentence makes no sense to me, as I do not know what Comcast or Verizon are (my best guess is they are ISPs), but as I live in England and only moved in recently, I am not quite sure how to interpret that into "british terms".
    As a med student, I definitly know I have a brain for a reason, and probably even know more about it than you do, and currently even in an FBMRI building about to do some brain scans on some patients.
    Also, what is a WhoIs?

    Peace.
    CPU: Mobile DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2000 MHz (12 x 167)- 2Ghz
    Chipset: Mobile Intel Calistoga i945PM
    RAM: 2048 Mb (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX (512 Mb)
    Audio: SigmaTel STAC9200 @ Intel 82801GBM ICH7-M - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
    Network Card: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Wireless Card: Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Modem: Conexant HDA D110 MDC V.92 Modem

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •