Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: BT3 and BT2 from USB-Drive

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default BT3 and BT2 from USB-Drive

    Hi,

    Iīm using BackTrack for a long time now and some month ago I started using it from my USB-Flash-Drive.
    Now I tried BT3 and copied all files over, but now only BT3(and memtest) can be started.
    Is it possible to configure lilo to allow multi boot from USB-Flash-Drives?

    THX
    inquisit0r

  2. #2

    Default

    Of course it is. Just use the search button - it's all over these forums, it's wiki, and google.

    -Stephen

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Question

    I have installed/unpacked BT2 and BT3-USB-Version on my USB-Stick, but I didnīt find a tutorial on how to configure lilo/syslinux to make it available to boot BT2 and BT3 from the same boot loader.
    At the moment only one of them appears, depending on the boot-files i use.
    Tutorials on multi boot I found only mention one how to add ISO-images or address partitions on a hard drive. Because i wanīt to change some things without the need to build a new ISO each time and copy it on the stick and write the configuration directly on the stick.

    Perhaps there is an info somewhere on the net, but then I didnīt got it.

    [EDIT]Or it isnīt possible at all

  4. #4

    Default

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...edit+lilo.conf
    Try steps 4 onward there, and have different folder names for BackTrack 2, and just remember to put them in when editing lilo. With BT3, you could just try editing the bootsplash to reference to BT2's vmlinuz image, which you have put in another folder. I think that might be easier, but can't guarantee it works.

    -Stephen

    Edit: One question though - what point do you have in dual booting these two? BT3 is an update of BT2.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks, I just made it, but while walking through I recognized, that the bootconfig in the USB-version is realized via syslinux.
    After som tries I can say, that itīs the easyest way, to make a new folder e.g. boot_bt2 or something and to copy all necessary files for bt2 into it. Now the bt3 boot-folders syslinux is started and from there a link to the bt2 start files is set.

    And as an answer to your question, why I wanted to do so:
    BT2 is stable, fully configured to my needs and runs perfect for me.
    BT3 is BETA and I first want to test this, before I only make use of the new version. And on a 2GB-USB-Flash-Drive is more then enough space to do so...

  6. #6

    Default

    Glad to hear it worked for you, I thought the syslinux way would be the easiest. Enjoy them both, and now that you say your reasons why, they do make sense all the best.

    -Stephen

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Please make a complete tutorial for all of us.

    inquisit0r,


    I am glad you both raised the question and found the solution on how
    to dual boot BackTrack2 & BackTrack 3 from a USB disk.

    Thank you very much

    Now here is the question:

    Would you please give us all a step by step tutorial on how to create
    the BackTrack2 & Backtrack3 USB Bootable disk?

    This would be greatly appreciated not only by me, but I am sure
    by everyone here as well.

    Maybey even add your Tutorial to the BackTrack Wiki also

    I too would love to use BackTrack3, but BackTrack2 works without issue
    for me. When I attempt to boot BackTrack3 on the same computer, it just
    hangs forever. So I too would love to be able to utilize a Dual Boot
    BackTrack2 & BackTrack3 USB disk.

    Awaiting your reply and thanks once again.

    Sincerely,

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SoftwareDefinesRadio View Post
    inquisit0r,
    I too would love to use BackTrack3, but BackTrack2 works without issue
    for me. When I attempt to boot BackTrack3 on the same computer, it just
    hangs forever. So I too would love to be able to utilize a Dual Boot
    BackTrack2 & BackTrack3 USB disk.
    Awaiting your reply and thanks once again.
    Sincerely,
    Or a you could save the data from your usb stick with bt2 on it somewhere and then install bt3 on it all by itself and if it works then you have no problems, if it doesn't work then you know where to look ?
    Just my two cents.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  9. #9

    Default

    It's not that hard. I'll write it here.
    1. Off the backtrack disc, copy over the 'boot' and 'BT3' folders.
    2. In the 'boot' folder, run the "bootinst.sh" file.
    3. Verify that this has installed BT3 correctly, and then proceed to step 4.
    4. Copy over the 'BT' folder from the BackTrack 2 disc, and the 'boot' folder, but rename it 'boot2' or something similar.
    5. Using your favourite editor (be it notepad, gedit, kedit), open (from your flashdrive) "boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg". This is the menu for the BackTrack 3 startup, and we will edit this to reference to BT2.
    6. Add this line to your "syslinux.cfg" file, assuming you used boot2 for the directory.

    LABEL bt2kde
    MENU LABEL BT2 Stable (KDE)
    KERNEL /boot2/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw chexpand=256 autoexec=xconf;kdm

    7. Providing you leave the BT2 main directory the same (BT), and in the root of the USB, then this should boot appropriately.
    8. Reboot and test. That's all!


    -Stephen

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi,

    today is the first day I found some time to view some boards.
    But phoenix910 has already given the steps to get bt2 and bt3 work from the same stick.

    Greetz
    inquisit0r

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •