Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: ALFA RTK8187 With BT3 problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default ALFA RTK8187 With BT3 problem

    somebody could post a step by step tutorial on how to get this ALFA usb adapter to work. I cannot do injection with it ...........plz

    i use this without Clint concted

    encrypt is WPA2

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m7moudmk View Post
    somebody could post a step by step tutorial on how to get this ALFA usb adapter to work. I cannot do injection with it ...........plz

    i use this without Clint concted

    encrypt is WPA2
    Somebody could post a step by step tutorial, but there is no point as it works just the same as most other adapters except much much better, and there is already extensive threads regarding this adapter.

    Injection works.

    I'm sure whether "Clint" is "concted" or not makes no difference.

    Why do you want to inject on a WPA2 network ?
    You really need to do lots more reading and searching.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    No problems here with my new alfa 500mW. Using it right out of the box with bt3 Beta with no aircrack updates...all default settings.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    No problems here with my new alfa 500mW. Using it right out of the box with bt3 Beta with no aircrack updates...all default settings.
    Glad to hear that, ordered Alfa yesterday Hope I don't get already broken device lol

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neklez View Post
    Glad to hear that, ordered Alfa yesterday Hope I don't get already broken device lol

    lol. Naahhh. Their really truly powerfull, and so dang light its unreal. I thought I got ripped off by them when I first held it. Why?? Because it was so dang light I thought the guts were stripped out and they just sent me the "shell"

    Boy was I relieved when bt2 and 3 recognized it right away. I usually only "see" 3-4 APs with my regular card with a 10dBi omni on it..and with this alfa after only 20 seconds and with the stock 2dBi omni antenna it comes with I "see" 12 AP's!!!

    Truly remarkable card. And only cost me 62 bucks!!!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I cannot recommended the alfa highly enough, it is one awesome piece of kit, and is worth every bit of praise and hype everyone gives it and more.

    You won't be disappointed.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Boy was I relieved when bt2 and 3 recognized it right away. I usually only "see" 3-4 APs with my regular card with a 10dBi omni on it..and with this alfa after only 20 seconds and with the stock 2dBi omni antenna it comes with I "see" 12 AP's!!!

    Truly remarkable card. And only cost me 62 bucks!!!
    Wow, that's amazing. I see about 8-10 AP:s with my Netgear WG111v2, so i'm really waiting how many I see with alfa I ordered 9dBi omni antenna too, and it cost $90 including shipping fees to Finland, so not a bad deal

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Just keep in mind with your 9dBi omni antenna, that your results may vary compared to the stock 2dBi antenna. The 9dBi antenna has a mush more narrower beam width. Which in turn gives it longer range by squashing the signal. The 2dBi antenna on the other hand sends the signal out very widespread. So depending on where your access point is, you may need to tweak in your 9dbi to that special sweet spot to pick up an AP that's not a on flat plane as your antenna.

    I find that my 5dBi omni works quite well for war driving in the city and for using on AP's. As for my wireless card, I use a 7dBi and a parabolic reflector. Combined with my ALFA card. I can't even explain how wonderful of a card it really is. I originally thought the same as -=Xploitz=-. I thought that I received a cheap card. That was until I seen the results of airodump-ng and kismet. Even with the stock antenna this card works great for everywhere and everyday use.

    The fact that it is widely used and supported by the open-source community makes for a great device that you know you be around for some time. A lot of thanks goes to the makers of the chipset (REALTEK). Who are more than helpfull to the open-source community with their drivers and such.

  9. #9
    Junior Member thegreo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    good evening members,its not often i ask a question but i too am just testing the ALFA 500mW card on BT3 Live CD for the first time.

    Just a curious question, ( i thought it would be appropriate to post here as title is listed as alfa problem...and seeing as the discussion is currently active)
    Its power related....

    I ran
    iwconfig wlan0 txpower 5
    iwlist wlan0 txpower
    result:
    Current Tx-Power=5 dBm (3 mW)
    (i believe to ignore the 3mw reading)

    When i use this command in BT2 and then go ahead and run airodump-ng my AP reports power of 120-125.

    Now in BT3 a get a power of 70-90
    (and same with networks around me, there power has also dropped..some dramatically)

    Is the ALFA's power the same? I know its reporting not to be.....
    is it relative to BT2.....
    this is the first time i have tested the ALFA in BT3 as i usually use my atheros PCI.

    Appreciate your time as always.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Check out this link on aircrack-ng Wiki. Under 'USAGE TIPS'. It describes what your are inquiring about

    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=r8187

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •