Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: change wifi0 channel

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default change wifi0 channel

    I need help, when i try to do aireplay -1 -0 i have this problem ;

    wifi0 is on channel 1 but the ap uses channel 6 , how can i change wifi0 to use channel 6? thank you

    Bt Rocks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Code:
    man aireplay-ng
    There you can find it!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by PabxH View Post
    I need help, when i try to do aireplay -1 -0 i have this problem ;

    wifi0 is on channel 1 but the ap uses channel 6 , how can i change wifi0 to use channel 6? thank you

    Bt Rocks
    No need for the -0. Your command should be

    Code:
     aireplay-ng -1 0 -a XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX -h XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX ath0
    Where the first set of X's is your APS MAC address and the 2nd set of X's is your cards MAC address.




    To change your channel to match your AP's channel, do the following....

    airmon-ng stop ath0
    airmon-ng start wifi0 X (X is the chanel of your AP)
    airodump-ng -c X -w capture --bssid ath0
    (where the X is again the channel of your AP, and the --bssid is the MAC address of your AP)
    Now run my aireplay-ng command

    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX -h XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX ath0

    Hope this helps ya, and while your at it, have a look at the videos in my signature.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thank you

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PabxH View Post
    Thank you
    Your welcome.

    But next time, "try" to search the forums a little more deeply ok??
    Everything you could want to know about the Atheros cards can be found here on the forums in my paper tutorials. Or in one of my videos in my signature.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    i used the commands you wrote down in your post, but my wifi0 does not find any WLAN in Wireless Assistant 0.5.7 whereas the rausb0 device finds my WLAN directly. whats wrong with the wifi0 ?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by freedrivers View Post
    i used the commands you wrote down in your post, but my wifi0 does not find any WLAN in Wireless Assistant 0.5.7 whereas the rausb0 device finds my WLAN directly. whats wrong with the wifi0 ?
    What NIC are you using? As I understand it rausb0 is the interface created for USB devices based on the Ralink chipset. wifi0 is the interface that is created for devices using the Atheros chipset with the madwifi drivers. (Pros, please correct me if I am wrong).

    Either way, depending on your adapter type you will have to slightly modify the commands.

    Are you using Backtrack 2 or 3 beta?

    In BT2 it takes some work to get injection working properly as I found out a few months ago. Check out this thread if you need to use BT2.

    In BT3b everything works just fine for me as it is.

    Hope this clears some confusion up.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi guys I'm new here. I have been lurking for a while and searching the forums. I have this same issue with changing my wireless channel. I am using backtrack3 latest distro and have an Intel 3945ABG. I understand these cards can be problematic, but I understand how to use it loading ht ecorrect drivers to allow monitor mode and successful packet injection.

    However, I have followed the advice aboe and in other threads to change the wireless channel but it never works. I always get a "not allowed" or some kind of error. So everytime I go to use aireplay now I get a complaint that the Access point I am trying to connect to is on channel 5 when the wireless lan device (rtap0) is on channel 1.

    I did change my router channel to channel 1 as well just to see if I could get aireplay working, but then I encountered another problem anyway!

    Doh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •