Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Compiz Thread

  1. #1
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default Compiz Thread

    I booted from USB into the ATI Compiz option. This is on a T60. I booted and then it instantly went into the desktop, then bounced back and asked me to login...

    root
    toor
    startx

    Startx Crashed and said no screens could be found.

    I then ran..

    xconf

    then

    startx

    And now it works flawlessly. I feel like a pimp right now it looks so cool.
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    117

    Default

    i ran the one for nvidia just to see what its like (the actual boot option) and i dunno if its messed up or suppost to be like this, but none of the windows have title bars. i cant move or minimise them. and they dont show up in the task bar either.

  3. #3
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    i also ran into this after enabling it. It will probably need more tweaking in the future. It's a nice feature, but not a requirement to run the best pentesting distro in the world
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  4. #4
    Senior Member imported_spankdidly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    I did this from what Marv suggested..

    "I must warn you that is isn't working like a charm here. It's slow and some windows don't render properly, nevertheless here you go:

    Installed to HD
    I installed the drivers from ati.com
    pressed ctrl+alt+backspace to get out X
    did 'aticonfig --initial'
    ran startx
    On the usb version there is a file /bt3/optional/cubez.lzm
    cd to it's directory and run 'lzm2dir cubez.lzm /' this will extract it to /
    now edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and add:
    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite"
    EndSection

    Restart X again, it should now work

    Big question now: how to properly remove it again, changing between windows is real slow. The benchmark just dropped from 250 to 15 fps"


    I noticed on my machine I have about 12 different desktops (switching to different desktops from the taskbar.) but when I went to configure how many to have, the setup said I had 4 desktops, but I actually had 12. So I dropped the desktops through the menu to 1, and now I have 4 lol. Looks like it's multiplying the desktops (at least on my T60). Compiz runs faster after dropping it to one. Still pretty slow though. Could be a driver or a setting somewhere. I will fiddle a bit more.
    I felt like bending the bars back, and ripping out the window frames and eating them. yes, eating them! Leaping, leaping, leaping! Colonics for everyone! All right! You dumb*sses. I'm a mental patient. I'm *supposed* to act out!

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    First of all there is more to add to the xorg.config than just that one section.

    Second the navidia driver has to be installed separate.

    And third to change the number of desktops in compiz you dont do any thing in kde. You open the compiz settings manager and click general options.Then click the desktop size tab. Then set the horizontal setting to 4 for the cube. LEAVE the number of desk top options 1.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    55

    Default compiz

    for ATI: as I said on the wiki: newer ATI cards are not supported. I just follow compiz.org recommendations. ATI performance on linux is not great in general.

    for Nvidia: I know there still is a window decoration issue. I managed to get it to work after fiddling around a bit, but forgot how (blet). I'll try to fix it asap.

    cfr hxxp://backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php/HCL:Compiz

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    79

    Default

    On Nvidia I also booted and got the issue with the shell consoles.

    I logged out (just to the root toor place)

    input root
    input toor
    input xconfig
    input startx

    now all consoles render correctly.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Also had issues with title bars with a Nvidia GC.

    This page solved my problem (i should have RTFM !) :

    'compiz.org/NVidia'

    I can also post my xorg.conf is someone is interested.

  9. #9
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Would you please, couldn't hurt....

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Here are the parts i checked/modified :

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "xtrap"
    Load "record"
    Load "glx"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "DRI" "true"
    Option "ColorTiling" "on"
    Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "true"
    Option "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    Option "AGPMode" "x"
    Option "AGPFastWrite" "on"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option "DisableGLXRootClipping" "true"

    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •