Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Mac address question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default Mac address question

    Hi Guys/Girls

    Sorry to bother you with this qustion. I usually don't ask questions without research and practical testing. Since My AP has died I was wondering this as i haven't had an AP to play with my mind has been very active hehe

    If I setup WEP and set my AP to only authenticate my NIC mac address (00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc) I'm safe to say no one can breach my security. What if they knew the WEP key loaded Aircrack-ng to see weather my NIC Mac address was connected to the AP. They see that i'm not connected and change their mac address to 00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc "mac -m 00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc ath0 will they gain access?

    Thanks,
    FEdor

  2. #2
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FedorEmelianenko View Post
    Hi Guys/Girls

    Sorry to bother you with this qustion. I usually don't ask questions without research and practical testing. Since My AP has died I was wondering this as i haven't had an AP to play with my mind has been very active hehe

    If I setup WEP and set my AP to only authenticate my NIC mac address (00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc) I'm safe to say no one can breach my security. What if they knew the WEP key loaded Aircrack-ng to see weather my NIC Mac address was connected to the AP. They see that i'm not connected and change their mac address to 00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc "mac -m 00:01:0b:ca:cd:dc ath0 will they gain access?

    Thanks,
    FEdor
    No, you would be completely wrong in that supposition.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Thanks for the reply

    Code:
    No, you would be completely wrong in that supposition
    So they could change their MAC to mine and gain access?

    I'll have to setup a 60 WPA2 Character passcode then

  4. #4
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Please read this thread:
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...highlight=fake

    It contains lots of information about exactly what you're asking about.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Yeah right, I didn't see that post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •