Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: returned to linux after years...probs with lilo.conf...

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default returned to linux after years...probs with lilo.conf...

    g'day everyone,

    a big hello to all. i am returning to linux after a break of a number of years since i heard about backtrack 2 the final.

    my system is running vista and i have loaded bt2 on its own partition. problem now is that whenever i boot up the only OS that boots is bt2. i dont get the option of loading vista. so my guess is that there is something wrong with the lilo.conf file????

    i am very rusty with linux not having used it for a long time and need some help. please dont tell me to read all the books and stuff. i have spent the last few weeks configuring my system to accept bt2 and have done countless number of rebuilds...but still i havent got it sussed. i am 95% there, mind you, and have a feeling it is only my lilo.conf file that is playing up?

    partitioning situation is as follows...
    /dev/sda1 ntfs windows 61GB
    /dev/sda2 ext2 linux boot 70MB
    /dev/sda3 linux-swap linux 980MB
    /dev/sda4 reiserfs linux native 12GB

    my lilo.conf file in /etc/lilo.conf is as follows...
    boot=/dev/sda
    prompt
    timeout=20
    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    reset
    vga=0x317

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    root=/dev/sda4
    initrd=/boot/splash.initrd
    label=backtrack2
    read-only

    other=/dev/sda1
    label=windows
    table=/dev/sda



    i then run the following commands...

    /sbin/lilo.conf
    lilo -v

    and immediately reboot the system...as i say, my system boots straight into bt2. not that i mind that, but i need to be able to use my vista OS so i can watch TV on its media centre program as i dont have a TV.

    im on my knees for help...

    regards,
    The_Oracle

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Your lilo.conf looks okay although the first line should be

    lba32
    this alows booting past the last cylyder.other than that it looks ok. that sbin/lilo command is nt nesecery just save the config and run lilo -v. it should say windows added and linux added.

  3. #3
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I would also increase the timeout, as it stands it is 2 seconds, and I have found that with a small timeout like that it can select the default option before you even see it.

    100 would give you 10 seconds, which should be good while you sort out the problem.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    hello Purehate,

    i was hoping you would reply to my needs. i have been lurking around the forum for a while before posting (thinking that i could do it all without any help) and ive read a lot of your posts which are enjoyable. i was a bit afraid of logging on to this forum as ive been watching how some people react to newbies questions.

    well, i did what you recommended and now i get this...

    Reading boot sector from /dev/sda
    Using BITMAP secondary loader
    Calling map_insert data
    Mapping bitmap file /boot/splash.bmp
    Fatal: open /boot/splash.bmp: No such file or directory

    still on my knees (for help),

    The_Oracle

  5. #5
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Just remove these two lines

    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    initrd=/boot/splash.initrd

    It's more about how you ask the question than what the question is.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thank you balding parrot,

    i feel like i am going balding too with the problems i am having. im thinking of changing my logon to balding_oracle...???? i am getting to the stage where i feel like getting rid of bt2 and deleting all my linux partitions. do you ever feel like that?

    despite everyones good efforts of help...i dont seem to be able to get this dual boot happening......any other ideas....?

    regards,
    The_Oracle

  7. #7
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Well I guess we all have days like that.

    Here is my lilo.conf from an install that I did the other day when someone said that dual booting with vista using lilo was impossible, and I showed that it isn't.

    Code:
    # LILO configuration file
    # generated by 'liloconfig'
    #
    # Start LILO global section
    lba32 # Allow booting past 1024th cylinder with a recent BIOS
    boot = /dev/sda
    prompt
    timeout = 100
    # Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
    change-rules
    reset
    # VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
    vga = 773
    # End LILO global section
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda4
    label = BackTrack
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    # Windows bootable partition config begins
    other = /dev/sda1
    label = Vista
    table = /dev/sda
    # Windows bootable partition config ends
    I have changed the hda references to sda as per your HD layout, and there is a timeout of 10 seconds with BackTrack being the default. I know that it works, so it may be worth giving it a try.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks BP,

    I will give it a go. it would be lovely to get things up and running sweetly. once a tweaker, always a tweaker. (thats me to a T)

    will post back what happens...

    thanking you,
    The_Oracle

  9. #9
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    I had the same problem with one install I did on a toshiba lap top. I ended up removing the boot partiton and dumping backtrack all on one partiton . then I increased to a 2 gig swap and every thing was great.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I am loving all this help. Many thanks. One 'stupid' question...? My sda2 drive partition was setup for booting from...that being the case, shudnt my lilo.conf file show...

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    root=/dev/sda2 (instead of root=/dev/sda4, which is my linux native partition)
    label=Backtrack
    read-only

    or am i way off track???? im clutching at straws here. if all fails, i shall try out what purehate mentioned in his last post.

    thanking you all,
    The_Oracle

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •