Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Can't Connect To My AP /me is stupid

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default Can't Connect To My AP /me is stupid

    Hmm, where to start.

    Fresh install of BT2.

    Ive missed out some things, but hope this is enough info.

    iwlist scan

    ath0 ......... network is down

    iwconfig ath0 up

    iwlist scan

    ath0........... scan completed

    now is a list of AP's, my AP appears here.

    Next I used Wireless Assistant (0.5.5) to try and connect.
    It comes up with my AP, every time it try to connect I get the error message Connection Failed.

    So I go to the edit settings section and change the following.

    WEP mode
    open
    shared

    ASCII
    checked
    unchecked


    I have tried putting my WEP key in the four different configurations of security settings but keep getting connection failed.

    I have left it set to Automatic (DHCP)

    I dont know anything about the DHCP settings, as when I go into my router the settings given dont appear to match what I get in the DHCP settings section.

    Where am I going wrong.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Here, try this...

    airmon-ng stop ath0
    ifconfig wifi0 down
    iwconfig ath0 essid Networksnamehere key XXXXXXXXXXXX
    ifconfig ath0 up
    dhcpcd

    before you run these commands...delete the contents of your /etc/dhcpc folder.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi, I've got a problem with this solution.

    I'm typing:

    Code:
    airmon-ng stop ath0
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 essid Flyte key xxxxxxxxx
    But the last line returns this:

    Code:
    Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
         SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not permitted.
    This is the same message I get if I just try setting the key alone (although obviously with "Set Encode" instead of "Set ESSID".

    I'm using a Netgear WG111v2 with a Realtek chipset which is detected at bootup with BT live cd.

    Anyone shed any light

    PS. I've cleared the /etc/dhcpc directory.

  4. #4
    Member elazar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Correct me if I am wrong, I believe the interface needs to be up before setting the essid, try this:
    Code:
     airmon-ng stop ath0
     ifconfig wlan0 down
     ifconfig wlan0 up
     iwconfig wlan0 essid Flyte key xxxxxxxxx
    E

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ah yes, I tried that and was just on my way back to reply again! (honest!!)

    I can set the essid now, but I still can't set the key. I have the same problem

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Another thing - the wlan device seems to be working fine, as I've been able to capture packets from my access point, inject packets and crack the wep key successfully.

    I've tried changing from monitor, to managed, and to auto mode and still no luck.

    I know the wep key is valid and correct because I've compared it to the one on the AP setup screen. Also, I used the same one for my windows box and it works fine.

  7. #7
    Member elazar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    217

    Default

    A quick check to the iwconfig man pages:

    Code:
     airmon-ng stop ath0
     ifconfig wlan0 down
     ifconfig wlan0 up
     iwconfig wlan0 mode Managed
     iwconfig wlan0 channel n
     iwconfig wlan0 essid Flyte
     iwconfig wlan0 key s:yourkeyhere [1]
     /sbin/dhcpcd -d -t 10 wlan0

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elazar View Post
    Correct me if I am wrong, I believe the interface needs to be up before setting the essid, try this:
    Code:
     airmon-ng stop ath0
     ifconfig wlan0 down
     ifconfig wlan0 up
     iwconfig wlan0 essid Flyte key xxxxxxxxx
    E

    No..the interface must be down while setting any arguments.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    On another note...I use to own a Netgear wg111v2 and I never could get it to connect to the internet..thats when I went and bought my Airlink AWLC4130 Atheros chipped card. No problems at all now. Baxter may have found a solution to the WG111v2..but I never could get it to connect to the internet. Try to PM him. Good luck..like I said..

    I failed to get my netgear WG111v2 to connect to the internet on BT2.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for the response again, here's some more results...

    Code:
    airmon-ng stop ath0
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 mode Managed
    iwconfig wlan0 channel 11
    Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
         SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not supported.
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 channel 11
    Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
         SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not supported.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •