Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Tmobile hotspot info

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    36

    Default Tmobile hotspot info

    So, I was sitting in starbucks and realized that I couldn't see any other hosts on the lan, no ping replies from anything. So I turned on another laptop so I could test things out on it, without touching anyone else's computer.

    I tried different types of hping configurations and nmap scans against my other computer and nothing seemed to get any sort of response. The only way I could see the other computer was firing up kismet and looking at the clients.

    Does anyone have any idea on how to get around this and what they are doing to keep hosts from seeing each other? I just want to know how it's all set up.
    I have no intention to do anything illegal, I'm just curious.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I think the nearest you are going to get to an answer, because of the obvious, is this.

    The reason is a setting called client isolation.

    And that is where I will leave it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    117

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ats1080 View Post
    Nice link.

    Sums it up very simply and clearly.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Yeah, thanks for the link.

    I wonder if there's any way around it.
    I just flashed my router with DD-wrt, which has that feature on it, so I may be able to fool around with it a bit.

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackglasspirate View Post
    Yeah, thanks for the link.

    I wonder if there's any way around it.
    I just flashed my router with DD-wrt, which has that feature on it, so I may be able to fool around with it a bit.
    Why would you want to get around it? Since getting around it in a TMobile hotspot would be illegal.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default Canopy

    It is entirely possible to accomplish that which you wish here. However, I do not believe that programs currently available have the capability to do it easily.

    I have produced a Flash Video of very recent work in this area which details success in the direct communication between one station and another without association or authentication with the Wireless Access Point. The video is currently being peer reviewed by colleagues in the USA and the UK. It utilises a program which I wrote named 'Canopy' using python and this is being extended and tested.

    I am also writing a paper to disclose this work which will be available for review shortly.
    Lux sit

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    117

    Default

    thats awesome. i was just getting ready to read up on how to do that. if i read correctly you mean your program can connect to another laptop through mac address? and without using ad-hoc? awesome work.

  9. #9
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    yes it's A ****ING AWESOME job and

    From an other Koder , MUCH Respect to You...
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  10. #10
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blackfoot View Post
    It is entirely possible to accomplish that which you wish here. However, I do not believe that programs currently available have the capability to do it easily.

    I have produced a Flash Video of very recent work in this area which details success in the direct communication between one station and another without association or authentication with the Wireless Access Point. The video is currently being peer reviewed by colleagues in the USA and the UK. It utilises a program which I wrote named 'Canopy' using python and this is being extended and tested.

    I am also writing a paper to disclose this work which will be available for review shortly.
    Well from one Seattleite to another, I would be very interested to see your work... (especially since it uses python). I'm going to focus my security studies here in the future with python, since it f*****g rocks!
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •