Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Keyboard hassle

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Keyboard hassle

    I wonder if any one can help i have been testing out quite a few linux live cd's quite like Backtrack 2, trouble is i can load it on my laptop but my desktop will not work it. When it loads up to the login screen and i try to add the user and password, for some reason when i type a letter two of that letter is printed on the screen. Any ideas how to get around this ? i have tried 3 keyboards same issue...... Not had this issue with other linux live cd's. Other issues but not this one, and i really want to dual boot my pc with backtrack

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Did you try editing your BIOS settings? Maybe tinkering with the PS2 settings or some other keybord option will help. Possibly a setting for screen resolution or such???
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    i can not log into backtrack 2 so i can not change anything and i am not sure how to change the settings while it is booting from the CD. Just my desktop i have issues with it works fine on my laptop, but i am university and being in a world dominated by Microsoft i can not get rid of windows off my laptop and havent much hard drive space to dual boot. Works on every over desktop i was thinking it could me an incapatibility issue with the mother board, as i have swap keyboards and nothing same issue...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    No...lol

    BIOS is the systems default settings for your computer. Turn on your comp and hit (usually) F2 repeatedly or look for a text that says system settings and it will tell you which F-key to press. This is all as soon as you turn on your computer. It has absolutely nothing to do with being in Linux or Windows..its BIOS.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    No...lol

    BIOS is the systems default settings for your computer. Turn on your comp and hit (usually) F2 repeatedly or look for a text that says system settings and it will tell you which F-key to press. This is all as soon as you turn on your computer. It has absolutely nothing to do with being in Linux or Windows..its BIOS.
    Another person that wants to use BT but doesn't even understand the most basic functions of a computer.

    When will it end?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    Another person that wants to use BT but doesn't even understand the most basic functions of a computer.

    When will it end?
    When Shaman makes his AirBeta public??
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default No Related options exist for the Keyboard in BIOS

    I have the same problem when i first boot BT 2 Final. I haven't found a way to fix the prob before i run startx, but after the KDE is loaded i can increase the keyboard repeat delay and lower the keyboard repeat rate or disable keyboad repeat by going to K menu > System > Settings > Hardware > Keyboard.

    I had checked in my laptop's bios and No Related options exist for the Keyboard. I bet there are setting for the driver BT 2 Final loads, but where are they? Anyone know?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrtom100 View Post
    i can not log into backtrack 2 so i can not change anything and i am not sure how to change the settings while it is booting from the CD. Just my desktop i have issues with it works fine on my laptop, but i am university and being in a world dominated by Microsoft i can not get rid of windows off my laptop and havent much hard drive space to dual boot. Works on every over desktop i was thinking it could me an incapatibility issue with the mother board, as i have swap keyboards and nothing same issue...
    Sorry, didn't understand have you swap keyboards permanently but try this cheatcode (lets hope it doesn't "doublecharacter")

    bt autoexec=xconf;startx
    (from BT Wiki, ziplock)
    ExitOnly@

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Learn to live, but live to learn, eh?

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    Another person that wants to use BT but doesn't even understand the most basic functions of a computer.

    When will it end?
    suppose you was born with all your computer knowledge i am guessing, rest of us learn it. Sorry if this is not acceptable.

    Thank you everyone esle for your usefull advise i will have another go soon.

  10. #10
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrtom100 View Post
    suppose you was born with all your computer knowledge i am guessing, rest of us learn it. Sorry if this is not acceptable.

    Thank you everyone esle for your usefull advise i will have another go soon.
    No, I wasn't, I crawled before I walked, and walked before I ran. You're attempting to do the equivalent of running a marathon when you haven't even been born yet.

    Why are you trying to do advanced things like pentesting when you obviously don't even know how a computer functions? Plus, if you didn't know what BIOS meant, then you probably should have googled for it, as I'm fairly certain there are thousands of webpages out there that describe what it is.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •