Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Install help, 700mb install not on usb but hdd

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default Install help, 700mb install not on usb but hdd

    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to get the USB type install on my hdd. The hdd is 1.5gig and the USB port is probably a 1.0 or 1.1. So it probably wouldn't make sense to go with a USB drive. The system is a 700mhz w/ 256 ram. The cd rom seems very slow so I'm trying to get the usb install going on my hard drive. I haven't been able to find any write ups about doing this. I've read many articles on how to do the hard drive full install.

    I'm stumped, the drive is setup ready to go. I've tried the installer for USB but that only seemed to put very files on the hdd. No where close to 700megs.

    How would I manually xfer the files over to my drive.

    thanks so much

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    i assume you do this under linux

    create a primary ext2 or fat32 partition, format it
    extract iso on the partition
    cd /boot/ on the new partition
    run bootinst.sh

    BEWARE : the disk where is your partition will be set to boot ONLY bt.......
    you will need to boot in the cd and modify lilo if necessary...........
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  3. #3
    Junior Member delusr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default

    You need this

    hxxp://www.offensive-security.com/movies/dualboot/dualboot.html

    Replace the xx with tt and paste it into your browser

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    shamanvirtuel's, I need more detailed steps, I don't know the basic commands.

    delusr, I've been using that link and also the transcript
    hxxp://backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php?title=Transcript_of_movie

    My problem is that it appears this line
    # cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack/
    # (Note: this has to copy 600+MB and takes a little while, so perhaps have a coffee)

    Does more than 600mb I think it unpacks the the entire CD. I keep running out of room. I did a 50m boot, 400m swap and the rest 1g or so.

    I followed the instructions in the transcript up to here
    # (Now you can start installing bt2)
    # mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    # mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/backtrack/
    # mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot/
    # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/backtrack/boot/

    The part that follows is cp --preserve -R
    I've also tried to replace the cp by using the GUI at that point. That doesn't seem to xfer 700mb(for usb) it seems to just setup the boot files.


    Thanks for your time and help.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Alright let me see if anyone can help me doing this

    I created a fat32 drive.
    In BT2 what command would I use to copy all the dirs and files from the cdrom (boot and BT) to the hdd.

    thanks

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Well I couldn't figure out how to copy the contents of the cd to my hdd from within bt2final.....so I cheated. I ghosted an image from another drive and dropped it on It works for now, maybe someday I'll figure the copy commands

    edit
    My load time went from 3m50sec to 1m flat - from time I entered startx to I heard the chimes.
    much much better

  7. #7
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mp3jeep View Post
    Alright let me see if anyone can help me doing this

    I created a fat32 drive.
    In BT2 what command would I use to copy all the dirs and files from the cdrom (boot and BT) to the hdd.

    thanks
    cp is the bash copy command

    ex. cp (option) (source file) (destination file)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    hello guyz,

    I have the same issue, after a while I get message lines with no space..
    these I get also after, cp --preserve .............as described in the tutorial.

    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/usr/local/rkhunter/lib': No space left on device
    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.15/bin': No space left on device
    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.15/include': No space left on device
    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.15/lib': No space left on device
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -

    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/var/snort': No space left on device
    cp: cannot create directory `/mnt/backtrack/var/state': No space left on device

    -------------
    When I check my drive sdb3, it should be enough...

    bt ~ # fdisk /dev/sdb

    Command (m for help): p

    Disk /dev/sdb: 2063 MB, 2063597568 bytes
    64 heads, 62 sectors/track, 1015 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 3968 * 512 = 2031616 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 26 51553 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 27 279 501952 82 Linux swap
    /dev/sdb3 280 1015 1460224 83 Linux

    Command (m for help):
    [2]+ Stopped fdisk /dev/sdb
    bt ~ #

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    cp is the bash copy command

    ex. cp (option) (source file) (destination file)
    Thanks purehate!

    I did a little search, trial and error and came up with this.

    umount /dev/hdc/
    umount /dev/hda1/

    mkdir /mnt/cd
    mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cd
    mkdir /mnt/hdd
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hdd

    cp -a /mnt/cd/* /mnt/hdd/

    I don't know what exactly was needed to done but it worked for me.
    Prior to that I had used a win98 boot disk and formated c: /q /s
    Having a bootable hdd and cd into boot/dos and enter BT.

    Now I need to figure out why the bootinst.bat wont write to my MBR

    Hopefully this helps someone else as I was stuck for a few days.
    Well worth the time I tried to do this, system is much quicker

  10. #10
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mp3jeep View Post
    Now I need to figure out why the bootinst.bat wont write to my MBR
    it probably needs editing to add the -f switch

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •