Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

    Hello, everyone I have been trying to connect to my access point after I spoof my mac address and I end up getting the error "Bad Password"
    I first issue:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger wlan0 -m 00:xx:xx:xx:00 (example)
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    then when I try and connect via Wicd I either get no access points found, or if I try to connect to my home access point I end up getting bad password. I have even tried using my girlfriends access point I get the same error. Im using a rtl8187. I have checked the password, and searched all over Google for a resolution, but have not found any. I did see something about wlanconfig destroy etc., but that command is not available in BT5 R3. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

    Quote Originally Posted by haku9 View Post
    Hello, everyone I have been trying to connect to my access point after I spoof my mac address and I end up getting the error "Bad Password"
    I first issue:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger wlan0 -m 00:xx:xx:xx:00 (example)
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    then when I try and connect via Wicd I either get no access points found, or if I try to connect to my home access point I end up getting bad password. I have even tried using my girlfriends access point I get the same error. Im using a rtl8187. I have checked the password, and searched all over Google for a resolution, but have not found any. I did see something about wlanconfig destroy etc., but that command is not available in BT5 R3. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
    I'm having the same problem. Returns a bad password.Which is odd, since my comrade can do it flawlessly using the same commands on his own laptop.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

    You need to be in managed mode to connect to AP, check that issuing this:
    iwconfig wlan0

    Check if in Managed Mode...if not, do this:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    ** At this point, you can go on configuring the connection manually or do the next:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    Run wicd and refresh...

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

    I tried doing that, but sadly it didn't work. I still can't connect to AP. I did the following:

    rebooted, the typed into terminal:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    tried to connect, got "bad password"
    Went to my original mac address (down, macchanger, up) and I was able to connect.
    Rebooted
    Typed this on terminal
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -e wlan0
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    And it didn't work either

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Help connecting to access point after spoofing mac address.

    What type of wifi device are you using?.. (Model and chipset)

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless access point with traffic routing and DNS spoofing
    By smilodon in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2012, 05:07 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 10:22 AM
  3. Connecting to a hidden access point
    By amfEichman in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 04:08 PM
  4. Having problems with my Wireless USB connecting my Access Point
    By Johndoe1893 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 09:35 PM
  5. cannot connecting to WPA access point "ERROR"
    By phil128 in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 06:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •