Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: NAT found then lost

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default NAT found then lost

    Alfa card AWUS036H
    Modem
    Internal wireless card
    Virtual Box 4.1.6
    BT5 Virtual Box
    XP host



    Virtual box settings
    - Adapter1: NAT->AdapterName: Blank->Adapter type: Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (82540EM)

    I have three BT5 VM's installed in VBox. Two have small virtual drives (under 10 gig)

    NAT works fine and Alfa can be enabled/disabled with out effecting NAT (as long as

    Alfa is disable NAT works); the third VM giving me NAT problems has been migrated to a

    larger drive on a different partition. Migration seemed to go fine, and BT5 was able

    to function flawlessly, except that NAT will not work. Somewhere btween starting the

    bigger BT5 VBox and running aircrack a new 'Virtual Box Host-Only Network' adapter

    appeared (#2) within XP host.

    ifconfig on VBoxes that have functional NAT display eth0 AND lo (local loopback), but

    on the broken VBox ifconfig only shows lo. eth0 is what i want on my broken VBox, how

    do i get eth0??? How do i find out which adapter is being used by which VBox? Thank

    you

    ps: i have already tried root@bt:~# ifconfig eth0 up

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: NAT found then lost

    I do not see clearly your problem..Did you moved your VM to another disk?, or to another partition?.. or cloned the vm?..I do not see it clearly...

    Could you be more specific on it, please, so we can help you...Your host is XP?...Another drive?....

    Luck...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: NAT found then lost

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    I do not see clearly your problem..Did you moved your VM to another disk?, or to another partition?.. or cloned the vm?..I do not see it clearly...

    Could you be more specific on it, please, so we can help you...Your host is XP?...Another drive?....

    Luck...
    Thnx 4 reply....Problem is NAT stopped working, i suspect re-enabling eth0, will solve the problem or the the virtualbox host only network adapter must be recreated to work with the moved VM (i am studying how to do that now) The VM was cloned then moved to a different partition, same drive, using gparted to increase size. Host is XP on different partition, same drive.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: NAT found then lost

    I'm sure one of the gurus around has had to compare two identical virtual boxes to find problems, how is a comparison best done? Thanks in advance to the guru who wishes to share this!! I have tinkered for the last week and still cant determine why these two virtually identical vboxes are behaving so differently when it comes to NAT connectivity.

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: NAT found then lost

    Read this..It talks about cloning a VM.

    https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/UserManual.html (1. First Steps, there is all about resizing VM and clonning)

    Hope it helps.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: NAT found then lost

    1st thnx Maverik 4 trying to help.

    Gurus and newbies alike who have successfully moved/resized a VDI for a virtualbox linux machine may benefit from this update.

    Apparently a common problem when migrating/resizing a vdi is that you will loose NAT capabilities. Below links give details on how to fix the problem (Dont worry fix is easier than the migration/resize) Nutshell: Quirky but powerful linux sometimes gives existing hardware a new MAC, adds the new MAC to 70-persistent-net.rules network map file and winds up confused which MAC to apply to the hardware.

    Solution and more detailed explanation available here:
    https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=7749 https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=7749

    Credit for pointing me to the solution goes here

    Hope this helps

Similar Threads

  1. Network in dvd found, in hard drive not found
    By rstudio in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 08:04 AM
  2. BT4 Problem Acer, WIMD devices not found/No screens found
    By Mahatna in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 03:44 PM
  3. lost some of my hdd
    By wizzle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 10:32 AM
  4. [Pregunta] Carpeta Lost&Found programas desorganizados
    By servant.co in forum Soporte en Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 04:22 PM
  5. changes lost, cant fix
    By Direwolf in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-29-2008, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •