Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Unable to obtain Ip address

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Unable to obtain Ip address

    Hi I am trying to get onto wep network, I got the wep key phrase but I am getting error : unable to obtain Ip address. I have no clue where to start so if any of you have ran into this problem lets get some ideas going. Something also that went haywire was Another wpa 2 network I usually use was saying bad passphrase but it was the right one, so i ended up reinstalling backtrack 5 64 bit and then it worked again. I do not know why, this must be some sort of bug. Anyways let me know thank you.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Unable to obtain Ip address

    I have this problem too, i can't connect to any network on Wifi on my notebook. always says. Obtaining ip adress. then gives error.!!!

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Unable to obtain Ip address

    Well it is backtrack that is the problem because I am able to connect on windows. I really like backtrack so I am going to need an understanding to why this happens and how to fix it. Do you use backtrack 5 64 bit as well? Either way I am happy because I made my first network intrusion now I will be able to understand alittle bit more about network security.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    In a dark room, on a bright chair.
    Posts
    10

    Cool Re: Unable to obtain Ip address

    Quote Originally Posted by Redm1 View Post
    Hi I am trying to get onto wep network, I got the wep key phrase but I am getting error : unable to obtain Ip address. I have no clue where to start so if any of you have ran into this problem lets get some ideas going. Something also that went haywire was Another wpa 2 network I usually use was saying bad passphrase but it was the right one, so i ended up reinstalling backtrack 5 64 bit and then it worked again. I do not know why, this must be some sort of bug. Anyways let me know thank you.

    i had this issue too.
    i was connecting to my WPA2 network without any errors, in the last days, i chaged my internet connection (well, i had to)
    after a lot of try, i figured out that we need to set an ip and dns before connect to the network.
    so i reconfigured my connection like follows;

    ip: 192.168.1.1
    subnet: 255.255.255.1
    router/gateway: 192.168.1.1
    dns:192.168.1.1

    and i could connect
    i hope it helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Cant obtain a handshake
    By Acidrain in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 02:14 PM
  2. Solucion wifi con broadcom 4312 ("unable to get ip address")
    By yarol in forum Soporte en Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2011, 12:14 PM
  3. can't obtain IP
    By solvo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 09:48 AM
  4. Obtain Controll via TCP
    By Dreamtouch in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 02:55 PM
  5. where can I obtain this exploit
    By vsotolkanachinaietsa in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •