Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Resolution - BT5 Gnome

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Question Resolution - BT5 Gnome

    I am having issues finding a solution to fixing the resolution size in my newly installed BT5. It is currently set to "800:600." And I would love to change it to "1280:720." In BT4 I used the old "fix-vesa" but that alas that doesn't work. :/

    Sorry for posting such an [I'm assuming obvious once I figure it out] question. But I've searched around and haven't found any quick fixes.

    Thank you ahead of time for your answers and your patience.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Resolution - BT5 Gnome

    Which VGA do you have ? Did you install the drivers if you have ATI or Nvidea ?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Cool Re: Resolution - BT5 Gnome

    Maybe you can see the step-by-step here
    http://vishnuvalentino.com/tips-and-...n-backtrack-5/
    I hope it helps

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Question Re: Resolution - BT5 Gnome

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortex View Post
    Which VGA do you have ? Did you install the drivers if you have ATI or Nvidea ?
    I found my graphics card by using this command

    lspci|grep nVidia

    I found I am using the

    Nvidea NVS 5100M

    I continued to install the driver and when I locate to the monitor configuration under system > preferences > monitors, I get the following message:

    It appears that your graphics driver does not support the necessary extensions to use this tool. Do you want to use your graphics driver vendor's tool instead? Yes.

    Then I get the following:

    You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server.

    What now?!

    Sorry again for the simplicity of my questions. I am still learning and am a beginner. Thanks for all of your help and great links posted thus far!

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Resolution - BT5 Gnome

    how do I install ATI drivers ?

Similar Threads

  1. Gnome for BackTrack 4
    By samiux in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 06:44 AM
  2. Put Gnome on bt4
    By blackhatdbl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 07:24 PM
  3. Dropbox - no gnome
    By prowl3r in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 03:15 PM
  4. GNOME Interface
    By Xakiru in forum OLD BT4 Feature Requests
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 07:32 PM
  5. Gnome instead of KDE?
    By ansabhailte in forum OLD Latest Public Release - BackTrack4 Beta
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2009, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •