Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Expanding already installed BT4 partition.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO ThinAir11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ganja Field
    Posts
    8

    Default Expanding already installed BT4 partition.

    I have a dual boot config, win7 and bt4 final.
    I made 10GB (486MB swap and 9.61GB the rest) partition for bt4, and now I am running out of space, is there any way to expand BT4 partition to a bigger volume, let say 15GB? Is that possible? I tried using Computer>manage>storage>disk management under win7, but with no success.

    May someone help me?

    Thank You,

    ThinAir

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: Expanding already installed BT4 partition.

    Yes, you might want to use Geparted. Windows wount recognize linux partitions (ext4, swap, etc)

  3. #3
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Expanding already installed BT4 partition.

    Boot with a backtrack live cd, use partition editor, resize your partition, apply changes and reboot. That should work fine.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO ThinAir11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ganja Field
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfdone View Post
    Yes, you might want to use Geparted. Windows wount recognize linux partitions (ext4, swap, etc)
    Do you mean qtparted? I have it installed on my BT4, and it is showing that the whole BT partinion is /dev/sda3 extended 10.08GB, of which /dev/sda3 ext3 is 9.61GB, and /dev/sda6 linux-swap 486.31MB.
    I can not extend sda3 or sda5 to a larger volume, only to resize/shrink it...

    Quote Originally Posted by sickness View Post
    Boot with a backtrack live cd, use partition editor, resize your partition, apply changes and reboot. That should work fine.
    You mean partition editor, when pressing on install.sh in the bt4 live cd desktop?
    If yes, then yeah i did that, resized to 15gb, and then on the step 7 out 7 i had a choice to press press install, but i pressed quit, and once booted back to my bt4 hdd install, there is still 10gb available, not 15gb. Or instead of pressing quit, i should of pressed install? but then it would of installed a fresh bt4 right...? And i dont want that...

    EDIT: solved. Disk management software in Win7 helped to delete partition, and then bootsect /fixmbr did wonders... never been so happy in my life.
    Last edited by ThinAir11; 05-13-2010 at 07:11 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 12:37 AM
  2. I can't get it installed on my Mac
    By RepsaJ in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 11:49 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2007, 03:48 PM
  4. Installed Backtrack automounts Backtrack partition
    By Patrick319 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 05:18 PM
  5. BT2 installed, Ubuntu installed, now BT2 wont boot
    By top_score in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 05:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •