Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: BT4 wont recognize my wireless card....

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default BT4 wont recognize my wireless card....

    Okay so bt4 isnt recognizing my antheros wireless card(when installed onto HD)
    do I need some sort of drivers or something to get this working?

    and when I connect via ethernet, i still dont get an internet connection

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    You need to post an output of your lspci as well as lspci -n listing.

    As for ethernet connection, you will most likely need to run dhcp client. Or if you are lazy, you can use network manager.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    lspci
    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 5a31 (rev 01)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:12.0 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 Serial ATA Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 82)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller (rev 80)
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge (rev 80)
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge (rev 80)
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RC410 [Radeon Xpress 200M]
    09:01.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
    09:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    09:04.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR2413 802.11bg NIC (rev 01)
    and

    lspci -n
    Code:
    00:00.0 0600: 1002:5a31 (rev 01)
    00:01.0 0604: 1002:5a3f
    00:12.0 0101: 1002:4379 (rev 80)
    00:13.0 0c03: 1002:4374 (rev 80)
    00:13.1 0c03: 1002:4375 (rev 80)
    00:13.2 0c03: 1002:4373 (rev 80)
    00:14.0 0c05: 1002:4372 (rev 82)
    00:14.1 0101: 1002:4376 (rev 80)
    00:14.2 0403: 1002:437b (rev 01)
    00:14.3 0601: 1002:4377 (rev 80)
    00:14.4 0604: 1002:4371 (rev 80)
    01:05.0 0300: 1002:5a62
    09:01.0 0607: 1524:1410 (rev 01)
    09:02.0 0200: 10ec:8139 (rev 10)
    09:04.0 0200: 168c:001a (rev 01)
    and for some reason network manager will not run when i click on it in the menu.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I dont know what I am looking for with that compatibiliy site, other than the most recent post is that it's working. when I ran live cd it worked perfect and did some WEP cracking but now that I installed in on the HD it doesnt work, and the ethernet doesnt work

  6. #6
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    09:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    09:04.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR2413 802.11bg NIC (rev 01)
    Your ethernet card is based on RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ and your wifi card is based on AR2413.

    When you installed BT to your HD, ethernet and wireless didn't work both?
    Did you installed something else right after? (kernel upgrade maybe?)

    I would suggest you to install again BT to your HD. It would be wise to follow the official guides.

    Or wait until someone else to respond to you with another solution.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Yeah straight out of install both ethernet and wirless didnt work...Ill try and re-install BT4 again. and I didnt install anything else yet because I havent had internet access

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    # /etc/init.d/networking start
    Should do the trick. try and and let me know.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    That didn't do anything either, nor did a clean reinstall of BT4 ( and i use the install.sh that is on the desktop when running the live cd to install)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Post your dmesg output here. I find it weird how both of them are unsupported, both of them are common chipsets and therefore the support should be there.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •