Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BT4pf and awus036h sort of broke

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    This is my first post, so be nice please.

    I have bt installed and running for a while, now using bt4pf(well chuffed wiv it). The alfa was injecting before, but of late I have been learning other things, so not used it. Now I go back to using, it will not inject, but it will go into monitor mode but will not connect to my own wep.

    I have used: r8187, rtl8187, vmware image, ubuntu (hd install), bt3(live), bt4pr(live).

    I have been using aireplay-ng --test, to check it. airmon-ng, airodump-ng works.

    Any advice please I have searched all over, but could not find answear.

    You mean there is NO one else out there that is having problems with this card???

    I just don't understand how it can go into m/m but cannot inject? or it can scan the air and find lot's of AP but cannot connect?

    Is it broke? do I need to replace?

    Thanx in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    No need to "bump" your thread, if someone knows the answer they will probably post.
    In the meantime post the output of and injection test.
    aireplay-ng -9 -e teddy -a 00:de:ad:ca:fe:00 -i wlan1 wlan0 That way others may be able to help you.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Also, post the steps you are using to try to connect to an AP and how you show that it is not functioning. Please do this with an AP under your control so you can be sure to eliminate unforeseen variables (like MAC address filtering, etc). Injection is more advanced, if you really can not connect to an AP then that says your card is probably having issues and I wouldn't go further with it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikec View Post
    Please do this with an AP under your control so you can be sure to eliminate unforeseen variables...
    .... Yeah and like doing something illegal and going to jail.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Senior Member MikeCa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    129

    Default

    You can lawfully connect to APs that are not under your control, like a university that you attend, or at a coffee shop for example.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikec View Post
    You can lawfully connect to APs that are not under your control, like a university that you attend, or at a coffee shop for example.
    No one said you couldn't.
    The above was a bit of tongue in cheek humor.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Have you two finished?

    Yea sorry about the double, getting frustrated. I have tried changing the driver etc, I am thinking the card maybe stuffed, just do not understand why.

    The AP's are not the problem since I gave birth to em.

    root@tcas-laptop:~# airmon-ng start wlan0
    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    5757 dhclient


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wifi0 Atheros madwifi-ng
    ath0 Atheros madwifi-ng VAP (parent: wifi0)
    wlan0 RTL8187 rtl8187 - [phy0]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

    root@tcas-laptop:~# aireplay-ng --test mon0
    18:03:47 Trying broadcast probe requests...
    18:03:49 No Answer...
    18:03:49 Found 5 APs

    18:03:49 Trying directed probe requests...
    18:03:49 00:18:84:2A:4C:55 - channel: 3 - 'Guest'
    18:03:55 0/30: 0%

    18:03:55 00:1E:2A:15:3B:4A - channel: 1 - 'khatunhafsa'
    ^C/20: 0%

    I just use "Wicd Manager" to connect, I am lazy and it is easy When I try to connect wicd just hangs iwconfig below done at the same time "Wicd" is thinking.

    root@tcas-laptop:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 no wireless extensions.

    wifi0 no wireless extensions.

    ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"tcas_vap" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:16 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
    Retryff RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-96 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:21458 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"tcas_vap"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=27 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption key:0123-4567-89 Security modepen
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default

    @I just use "Wicd Manager" to connect, I am lazy and it is easy When I try to connect wicd just hangs iwconfig below done at the same time "Wicd" is thinking.

    you should not bother to bring up wicd prior to/after starting X in this scenario; at least to avoid any possible unnecessary complications/confusion.

    @If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    5757 dhclient

    did you issue #kill 5757 at this point?

    you mention having a live bt3 final option. your card looks as though it should be functional. an easy way to verify the issue is not your card would be to simply rule out the drivers and any other changes/cli mistakes you have made during previous attempts. the alfa should inject and associate properly in monitor mode in bt3 with very little hassle without the confusion sometimes caused by those not used to using the mon0 interface. you could simply bring up the alfa via #airmon-ng start wlan0 (ap channel #),verify monitor mode, and then use an automagic such as wesside-ng via #wesside-ng -i wlan0 (ap channel #) to verify AP association and injection and rule out the card as being defective/failed.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    PID Name
    5757 dhclient

    did you issue #kill 5757 at this point?

    I did not even think to kill

    I have not even heard off wesside-ng Ok to rule out - I reloaded bt3 final usb(cd). Issued airmon-ng start wlan0, it is now in m/mode with no 'pid' warning. Issued aireplay-ng --test wlan0 and it is not injecting But it shows mac of 02:1a:70:e1::79:5e for 'tcas_vap'

    So:-

    wesside-ng -i wlan0 -v 02:1a:70:e1:79:5e 11
    using mac
    WARNING: Appending in wep.cap
    Looking for victim...
    Found SSID(tcas_vap) BSS .......
    Datalen 46 known clear 8
    Got 8 bytes of prga IV=(ff:d2:c7) PRGA=02:1a.........
    Error max retransmists for (30 bytes)

    I have never used this program before, but do not think it is injecting.

    I do like this program makes life alot easier got the key all in one command. lol

    wesside-ng -i ath0 -v 02:1a:70:e1:79:5e 11

    Anyways, wlan0 still not injecting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •