Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Cannot Log In/Sign into BT4 Pre Final after full HD instalation. Can you help??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hi Guys..

    I have Googled and searched but I cannot find why I am having this issue.

    I have Installed BT4 Pre Final onto A 20GB Partition using the install.sh icon on my desktop from the BT4 Pre Final live .iso

    All seems to run smoothly and says install was successful.

    That is until I reboot...

    and I am met with a black screen with white text.

    then the Login text ask me for my user name and password.

    I was very careful as always creating my username and password.
    So i know i am Not entering it in incorrectly

    But I still CANNOT log In.

    I always get the Username and password prompt repeating over and over again.

    What am i doing, or have I done wrong?

    Or is there something i am missing?

    I am absolutely brand new to this so plz No flaming.

    Just Help Please

    Scrypt

    How do I reset my Passowrd??

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrypt View Post
    How do I reset my Passowrd??
    Reinstall.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    I have reinstalled Twice now and the same thing keeps happening.

    When I start the install process of BT4 Pre final by using the install.sh icon on the desktop.
    Each time I am met with this error message:

    "Language failed with exit code 10.
    Further information may be found in /var/log/syslog.
    Do youwant to try running this step again before continuing?
    If you do not your installation may fail entirely or be broken"

    I have Googled for a solution but I have not found anything that has helped me to rectify this.

    Can you help??

    after the installation process has ended apparently successfully.

    I reboot and on my GRUB boot screen I am met with Ubuntu 8.10 and Ubuntu 8.10 (recovery console)

    Is this the normal boot entry that is created after installing BT4 Pre Final ??

    After I select Ubuntu 8.10 I am met with the normal Ubuntu text based boot login screen and at the end I am greeted with this login prompt:

    <user name>@laptop:
    Passwrd:

    But I enter the correct user name and password that I created during the BT4 installation process But it fails.

    and repeats the above login prompts

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default cannot-log-sign-in

    try 1 more clean install.... and make sure you watch the BT Teams install video which will walk you through everything form Install, setting the unix password (which may be your issue) and fixing the boot spash/menu.lst.. to setting up ssh, wireless, etc.

    BT4 is straight forward, and it (Personal Experience) only fails when I do/don't do something....

    I have been using BT for years and with the ease of the ubuntu base it would be safe to say I have over 200 installs. I have installed BT4 so many times; (lap, desk, usb, Virt apps, full disk, multi-boot environments) other than hardware issues for a few, I have had a total of 5 total failures. 3 using the same defective media and forgetting to destroy it since it was zero dark 30; Improper custom partitioning and nodding of to somewhere in between waking started from the wrong directories. And finally fatfingering the keys and even confirming and getting locked out... which thanks to BT4, you can modify users so I guess it should only be 4!

    The point being no matter who you talk to.. they are going to say the same thing. Depending on the day, they may not have the tact or be tired of people dogging BT. I have never posted replies......... simply because I don't have the time... but, we have all been there.... so don't sweat it!

    This being said the only time I have ever had issues with passowrd lockout is when I failed to set the unix password... (or foreign charset.. but you have to be really tired to do that one!) If you have watched and verified that you have done all the steps correctly... using the BT Teams Video.

    if you have followed all those steps....

    ** instead of double clicking the install.sh try bring up a prompt and type "ubiquity", the commands will make or break you, so just try using it. As far as the Language Error 10 code goes.. that is a bug that they may eventually resolve, but I really don't care since it does not impact anything, and would like them to keep moving onto areas they are working on which actually impact performance and consistency and enhancement.

    then try some of the steps outlined below to check and verify what and how you are burning the media:
    - verify the hash from your downloaded iso .
    - If you are burning from inside windows or using certain 3rd party burning apps try slowing down the burn speed to ensure proper burn.. ,
    - verify the media after it is burned.
    - If you are using your own custom image, verify the structure


    If after all this, if you still have issues let me know,but I know if all this is checked you will not have any further issue, and anyone who has been using BT is going to give you the same advice +/- a few suggestions.

    Semper

  5. #5
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    I posted something here in response to a very similar query, you may want to see if it helps.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hi semper and Lupin

    Thank's for the replies.

    I managed to correct my issue by re-extracting BT4 Pre Final once again to my USB Key and then Re-Installed (third time lucky)...

    This has done the trick and I can now login to BT4 Pre Final, and I am good to Go.

    Thanks all for the help

    "Perseverance is key"

    scrypt

    Okay Thnaks Semper and Lupin for the support.

    I am having another issue and I am hoping you might be able to help me with it.

    I have no WLAN! whatsoever.

    I understand this sort of defeats the object of BT4 because it announces my presence to the network,
    But i need Internet availability for support purposes.

    I have A Broadcom BCM4312

    I have started network connectivity using the:

    " sudo /etc/init.d/networking start" command

    and get internet with my LAN cable.

    But I cannot seem to enable my my WLAN card.

    I have ran "sudo apt-get update", and "upgrade"

    and this gave me these errors:

    "Cannot upgrade to backtrack-web, backtrack wireless, and backtrack-world framework3
    E: sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg/ returned an error code (1)
    postgresql-8.3
    postgresql"

    I have read few posts concerning the above errors, but at the moment I am not quite sure what to do!

    Any help greatly appreciated!!

    scrypt

  7. #7
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrypt View Post
    I have no WLAN! whatsoever.

    I understand this sort of defeats the object of BT4 because it announces my presence to the network,
    But i need Internet availability for support purposes.

    I have A Broadcom BCM4312

    I have started network connectivity using the:

    " sudo /etc/init.d/networking start" command

    and get internet with my LAN cable.

    But I cannot seem to enable my my WLAN card.
    Might have been better to start a new thread for this problem.

    wicd can be used to configure your wireless network card (assuming the card is supported, check the HCL).

    Run:

    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/wicd start
    And then start the GUI client, used to configure your wireless network, from the Internet menu.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Okay tried the

    sudo /etc/init.d/wicd start command, but nothing happens..

    But I cab start it by selecting it from

    imternet - network manager - wicd network manager.

    and im pretty sure my card is supported BCM4312

    here is my output from sudo lshw -C network

    and it states that my wlan card is unclaimed.
    How can I fix this??-

    do I rally need to instal a windows driver to get it working??

    here is the output:

    laptop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Network controller
    product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
    version: 01
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
    configuration: latency=0
    *-network

    Okay I managed to get wicd network manger started by the icon for it on my desktop and launching it from there.

    thsi strts wic network manager

    but still no wlan card

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrypt View Post
    here is my output from sudo lshw -C network

    and it states that my wlan card is unclaimed.
    How can I fix this??-

    do I rally need to instal a windows driver to get it working??

    here is the output:

    laptop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Network controller
    product: BCM4312 802.11b/g
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
    version: 01
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
    configuration: latency=0
    *-network
    Yes, it's a broadcom card, no native linux support at the moment, or ever, not sure on that part. You'll basically be able to use it for internet and network surfing, but none of the "cool" stuff built into backtrack.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •